NAS or External Hard Drive
ROOKIE ALERT

I am pretty new to this. I bought an Amazon Fire box with Kodi loaded. I loved it but given my AT&T internet isn't great so I run into buffering issues a lot. I have attempted a number of solutions but, while it has improved a great deal, slow internet is slow internet. I also felt like I wasn't using Kodi to its fullest. So I have an older unused laptop with a cracked screen. Today, I reformatted and did a fresh install of Windows, cleaned it out, and loaded Kodi onto it. Tomorrow, I am going to set up Usenet and Sickbeard. I have no experience with either. I figure I am better off downloading the shows to avoid sluggish buffering and shows can download while I am at work.

So, after I get Sickbeard up and running, I will need additional storage. I am unsure of the advantages of an NAS over a simple external hard drive. I understand that with an NAS all the computers in my house and all the devices could potentially access all the files but isn't it also possible for me to network the external hard drive if it is attached to a dedicated machine that is nearly always running? Maybe I am thinking about it wrong so I am hoping someone can clarify. If it helps, I live alone. I don't game or anything like that. I really only use my work laptop to do stuff but obviously I am now setting up a second machine for media purposes. I would love to be able to use my laptop on one tv and the fire on another tv but it isn't an absolute must if there is a faster/better set up using the laptop for one thing and the Amazon Fire as the actual machine running Kodi to my main tv (no clue if it is or not but I am throwing that out there). While I consider myself computer literate, I don't want to take on something overly complicated.

I might be overthinking this I guess but please help clarify and potentially recommend what might be the best use of my current equipment.
First off, you might want to remove or reword your first paragraph.