v14 Networking Problem Fire to PC
Hi all
I am new to the world of Kodi but have managed to add it to an Amazon Fire TV stick. I am having problems connecting to my home network so that I can play files located on my PC. I have been through several tutorials how to set up file sharing from Windows 7 64bit PC with no luck. When I try to add files in Kodi I go to Windows SMB and it shows MYGROUP click on that and the next field is ROUTER and the next USB then it asks for Username and Password. I have no Username or password to enter am I doing something wrong? It maybe that my firewall is blocking it, i'm not sure. I would appreciate any help or advice... Thank you Abe
Try the password you use if you want to login into windows
I have found that I can network the folders on my PC through UPNP Using Windows Media Player,I don't kmow if this is the best way, but it seems to work OK.
Windows networking only works if the username has a password to go with it. So if you normally start up your PC and login without a password, this will be part of your problem.

Your description of attempting to add the files to KODI sounds odd. Not sure why you are getting "ROUTER" or "USB" options in there.

I can walk you through that SAMBA setup on Win 7 PC. Depending on if it is Win7 PRO or HOME there are slightly different ways of getting this to work. The simplest will just be to add a password to your current user login.
I would guess "ROUTER" and USB" are actually the USB port on the back of the OP's router, where you can connect a USB stick or drive up and have it shared with the network (as a shared drive). So it doesn't look like sharing is enabled on the actual PC - that is under control panel > network and sharing centre > change advanced sharing settings and make sure that network discovery and file and printer sharing are both turned on.