Suggestions for what I should use to build my Raspberry Pi 2?
I was thinking about replacing my Apple Tv 2 with a Raspberry Pi 2 as a Kodi dedicated box. I'm new to the whole Raspberry Pi thing so I'm not exactly sure what equipment I should get to build it. It seems like there are a lot of options...

Are are certain SD cards, power adapters, or wifi adapters that work better than others or should I just stick with the official adapters? Also, do people use any of the add-on boards? Like the RemotePi Board Plus for shutting it on and off?
Did you try the Wikis and/or the Pi forum? Chances are they have the info you are looking for.
http://kodi.wiki/view/Raspberry_Pi
AFTV (non-rooted + Kodi)
WD My Book Live NAS
1) If you're near a Microcenter, you can pick one up for $30.

2) Get the thickest, shortest micro-USB cable you can find/use (e.g. 3ft. 24awg).

3) Get a quality power supply, such as an iPhone charger. 5W is passable. 10+W is better, especially with peripherals.

4) Samsung EVO microSD cards had a corruption problem that was fixed. Personally, I'd still go for a Sandisk Ultra in the cheapest size available.

5) Buy the MPEG-2 and VC-1 codecs if you plan to watch live TV or certain Blu Ray rips.

6) Edit the config.txt file to overclock (1000Mhz Arm, 500Mhz SDRAM, 500Mhz GPU) and enable turbo mode (voids warranty).

7) If your TV doesn't have CEC, buy a $0.99 IR chip and wire up a receiver using the GPIO pins.

8) Leave it on 24/7 and pay the extra $3 in yearly power costs.

9) Wired ethernet >> 5Ghz WiFi > 2.4Ghz WiFi

10) Thank popcornmix, Milhouse and the rest of the Raspberry Pi/Kodi/Openelec organizations for their work... then enjoy.
Some corrections:

- You NEED a 5V/2.0 Amp power Supply. An iPhone charger is definitely inadequate once you add usb perhipherals.
- Samsung micro SDHC cards have been proven over and over to be the fastest, these ones:

Samsung 16GB EVO Class 10 Micro SDHC with Adapter up to 48MB/s (MB-MP16DA/AM)