v14 Kodibuntu network mystery
Hi all,

Forgive me but I am a newbie with Kodibuntu so if I ask some dumb questions I'm sorry. Also, if I need to submit any extra details I'll be happy to, I may need help figuring out how to get them though (Linux noob).

Here's the basic spin, I have Kodibuntu 14.0 installed on an Intel NUC (DN2820FYKH), 4GB DDR3, 64GB SSD and everything was running beautifully however an issue with the internal network has developed.

Basically Kodi can't see the media sources on the media server so thinks nothing exists in the library anymore. Strangely, it will work fine sometimes but more often than not it won't. If I try to edit the source it just doesn't see anything on the internal network. Here's the weird thing though, it sees the outside world just fine, that is it will happily stream from the internet without any hassle. Checking the network status in Kodi shows things are fine, IP address, connection active.

Just to be on the safe side I tried a new ethernet cable and even a new switch but unsurprisingly that didn't help.

Nothing has changed in the setup, it just started happening out of the blue.

Any ideas what's going on?
Hi...

That's (sometimes) a normal behaviour while using SSD...your issue isn't the network, your issue is that your machine boots to fast and the network service isn't up at the start of Kodi. So you have to setup a delay at boot, to let Kodi wait until the network is up. This sounds harder than it is Wink...but first read the whole posting!!!

Requirements for the next steps are:
- you have a keyboard pluged at your HTPC
- are able to copy and paste commands I will give you
- are willing to read the wiki sections I will link you to!!!!

We have to do some other little steps. If you still run Kodibuntu 14, you should really upgrade. You have to exit Kodi and enter Kodibuntu like I explained here: Kodibuntu#Desktop_mode (wiki)