My first script - Error
Hi,

I'm new at python development (but have other dev experience) and am currently trying to create a very basic script to experiment with Kodi development. Using Openelec (Kodi v14), on Raspberry Pi.

Script file:
Code:
import kodi
kodi.executebuiltin("RunPlugin(plugin://plugin.video.youtube)")

Error:
Code:
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'executebuiltin'

I run the script by navigating to the directory in Putty and use the following command:
Code:
python script.py

If I run the script using the following command, I don't get any errors, but nothing is happening...
Code:
kodi-send -a "RunScript(script.py)"

I did a lot of googling but cannot figure out why this is not working. All documentation seems to be saying it should basically work.

What am I doing wrong? Huh

Btw: I upload my file to /storage/scripts and gave the .py-script 755 permissions in my FTP program (FileZilla).
"import kodi" does not exist

"import xbmc" does
Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
(2015-08-13, 22:32)Martijn Wrote: "import kodi" does not exist

"import xbmc" does

And I for one hope that doesn't change for a very, very, very long time. Wink

"import xbmc" does

Thanks for the reply! However, when I change that into import xbmc I get the following error: "ImportError: no module named xbmc".

Do I have to run the script from a specific location where the xbmc module can be found/imported?
(2015-08-14, 04:30)pkscout Wrote:

"import xbmc" does

And I for one hope that doesn't change for a very, very, very long time. Wink

Well it might change but will for sure be backwards compatible.

(2015-08-14, 10:04)longshanks17 Wrote:

"import xbmc" does

Thanks for the reply! However, when I change that into import xbmc I get the following error: "ImportError: no module named xbmc".