WIP My twist on a Media Server Build
Similar to many of the other folks on this forum I work in IT. As such I know my way around a computer and have built quite a few. I’ve moved from physical disc media to digital lossless MKV Rips only for my movies, and FLAC for all my audio CD's.

Currently I use the WD Live TV + a external Seagate 3 TB USB drive. This works well for my single room, however I am running out of space on the current hard drive. Additionally if I want to stream these movies to another location I do not have that ability.

I’ve toyed around with the idea of a media server/HTPC for quite some time. I’m familiar with JRiver (from reading all the reviews out there), XBMC (now Kodi), and some of the other programs and devices.

I’ve decided to copy a buddy of mines build for a media server in some regards and differ in others. I am looking for comments on implementation but I think I have my self squared away. Here is my plan which has multiple stages.

Stage 1: Build HTPC

My goal with this computer is to 2 fold. I will put it in my main HT setup. That is where it will be utilized the most and since my house isnt wired for Cat 5e (see stage 2) it keeps me from dealing with buffering and wireless issues.

Hardware:

For parts, I plan to use a Micro ATX motherboard with 6 SATA 6 gigabyte per second connectors. A single SSD (leaning toward a Samsung 840) ~120 - 240 gig will be used for the OS, a set of 4 TB harddrives for my media to start with, and a internal 5.25 blu-ray player. I plan on using a 450 - 500 watt powersupply. All of this will be housed in a HTPC case.