Absolute Linux Mint and Kodi newbie here - stuck at step 1 lol
I am brand new to Linux and to Kodi. I tried Kodi on Windows 10 and the lag between selecting a song was about a minute and it was even longer when selecting a movie. I figure Linux is faster.

I tried the Kobuntu install, but couldn't get the USB drive to boot. I used the Pen software and selected Ubunto because I couldn't find Kodibunto on there - maybe that was my problem. So someone in another forum suggested Linux Mint. I was able to get that to work, so here I am with a Linux Mint laptop!

Big Grin

I like it so far, but so much of this is foreign to me. I am used to being able to download and run executables. So I go to the guide to install on Mint. I do know that Mint is based on Debian, so found that section. The first sentence states:
Code:
The installation if you are using Debian, it's very simple You will need custom repos, availables on custom repos here.
For reference, here is the link: http://kodi.wiki/view/HOW-TO:Install_Kodi_for_Linux

Can someone ELI5 what to do on that link? Do I need to download all the links on the linked page? Where should I put them?

If anyone has patience, a "for dummies version" would be helpful Smile

Thanks in advance.
Try openelec.
blindaim,

Welcome to the forum.

If you have installed Linux Mint, the hardest part is behind you. You certainly don't have to "download all the links". Have you been able to open a terminal and type in the commands (sudo apt-get...)? You will need the password that you created when you installed Mint.
teeedub,
Thanks for the suggestion. I want to use this laptop for streaming and as a torrent box. I've also got some time invested already configuring Linux Mint. Scanning through the site, it looks like openelec is a dedicated OS just for streaming. Is that correct?

Tobor,