Refresh rate switching on interlaced content
I'm still on 14.2, so if this has been fixed in the newer versions please let me know (I'm a bit scared of upgrading as I'm new to Kodi/Linux and finally have the hang of 14.2)

I record a lot of movies on channels that are 1080i. These movies were all originally shot on film at 24fps.

When I set my deinterlacing in Kodi I can use either temporal spatial or temporal spatial (half). Bringing up the Codecinfo debug I can see they detelecine down to 47.95 or 23.98 respectively. But my pc still spits out a 60hz signal for both of them.

Why is additional pulldown being done after the 24fps stream has already been reconstituted? Is there a setting to correctly output a 24hz signal the way progressive files do?
You will first need your X config to match your display's capability for resolutions and refresh rates. Then check you have the appropriate (and latest) graphics driver for your GPU, test it all with xrandr (xrandr -q) and create a xorg.conf static display config if required. In Kodi you can then enable 'Adjust display refresh rate to match video' to dynamically switch refresh rates to what your display can handle depending on your movie's fps. From your post it is clear that your display must be able to handle 24fps if most of your video material is 24fps Smile. Also, Deinterlacing should be set to Auto in Kodi.
What he said.

Also I highly doubt that all the movies you have were shot on film at 24 fps. More likely than not they are 23.976 fps not 24
(2015-11-05, 19:07)pittsoccer33 Wrote: I'm still on 14.2, so if this has been fixed in the newer versions please let me know (I'm a bit scared of upgrading as I'm new to Kodi/Linux and finally have the hang of 14.2)

I record a lot of movies on channels that are 1080i. These movies were all originally shot on film at 24fps.