Looking to upgrade from aftv 1 - Is there any reason not to buy a shield/remote?
I have been using xbmc, now kodi, for many many years. I love the program since most of my media (music, video) is local on a synology server that is hardwired with my router, receiver and 'xbmc box' right at the entertainment center.

Originally I had a zotac mag pc running windows 7 and xbmc with an ir remote and keyboard (had this setup for over 4-5 years). This was convenient (or so I thought) because I could use the browser and go to youtube or whatever. In reality, it was a giant pita with windows updates, streaming websites (youtube, espn, fox sports, hulu) not playing properly because the browser didn't like my video drivers or something, etc.

Last year, I purchased a fire tv because I wanted kodi, but also the other 'apps' like Espn, fox sports, pandora, etc that I could access live streams with my user/pass. Additionally, I have prime and am integrated with the amazon ecosystem.
I have enjoyed it over the past year but have two major problems.
1. Everything to do with kodi is kind of a pita - had to immediately root and stop updates, have to use a special program to sideload it on to the aftv, use the ikonotv app and overwrite, anything I push to it (keyboard.xml, other files, etc) becomes a hassle for me to learn how to use the program all over again since I don't do it that often.
2. Similarly, since aftv has its 'own' os and not really android, I can't install google music (except through kodi - which has limited functionality, gets broken a lot) or all the other android apps that haven't made it to the fire tv store (eg. cbs, other tv apps).

As such, I have been looking heavily at new xbmc boxes and am settled on the shield with remote or the new wetek core. Both of these are recommended as the latest and greatest in the stickied thread.