Kodi 16 - Android pass-through test thread. EXPERIMENTAL!!!

  Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 15,581
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #1
THIS PASSTHROUGH EXPERIMENT WILL NOT BE INCLUDED IN THE 16.x VERSION OF KODI

THIS THREAD IS JUST AUDIO PASS-THROUGH TESTING. DO NOT USE THIS THREAD FOR ALL BUG REPORTS. PLEASE READ THIS WHOLE POST BEFORE REPLYING HERE.


While these are test builds for a bugfix/maintenance version, they are still test builds. Proceed with caution and always backup (wiki) your settings!
This thread will be updated whenever we create a new test build. Be sure to visit on regular bases to see if a new build is available.
Any unrelated questions or posts will be deleted without notice!!



What is this:
  • These are test builds for anyone who would like to help with testing the pass-through that might be merged into upcoming v16.0 Jarvis release. So it's not sure it will be.
  • These builds are based upon the Jarvis branch that will become the final release
The main aim of this thread is to help make sure the pass-through method that might be implemented in Android for Jarvis works in most if not all cases..

Pass-through options (check what your devices actually supports!):
  • AC3
  • E-AC3
  • DTS
  • DTS-HD (NVIDIA SHIELD TV and perhaps others)
  • TrueHD (NVIDIA SHIELD TV and perhaps others)

How to help:
  1. Say if this was also an issue in regular Jarvis beta builds or not.
  2. A debug log (wiki)
  3. The build date (in the download URL or in system info on Kodi)
  4. Details about your system (OS version, hardware specs, etc)
  5. Steps needed to reproduce the issue (play a movie, go to a file list, use an add-on, etc)
  6. The more details, the better.

By posting here you are expected to know how to install and give Debug Log and proper feedback. Any unrelated question will be removed.



Where to download:
Build date: 20th February 2016 (16.0) Build date: 8th March 2016 (16.1-RC1)
As always, a huge thanks to all our testers for helping make Kodi better for everyone!

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
(This post was last modified: 2016-03-09 13:58 by Koying.)
find
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 15,581
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #2
******

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find
danjames92 Offline
Fan
Posts: 542
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 5
Post: #3
This is awesome. Only tried DTS-HD MA but working flawlessly for me. Will report back if any issues arise. Thanks for the early Christmas present! Big Grin

Mac Mini (2.7GHz, Late 2012, Windows 10, Kodi DSPlayer) | SATV 16GB | Panasonic TX-P50GT50B | Yamaha RX-V675 | Q Acoustics 2010i (FL, FR, Left S, Right S), Q2000ci Center, Q2070si Sub
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-20 22:25 by danjames92.)
find
wesk05 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 891
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 28
Post: #4
I agree! This is awesome. Nice Christmas gift Smile

I checked it on the SHIELD and Nexus Player. On the SHIELD Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio works. Dolby Digital Plus doesn't seem to be working (5.1 plays as Dolby Digital & 7.1 plays with no audio and extremely low fps video). Also, when passthrough is enabled, true 7.1 LPCM has no audio. Now, it is extremely rare to find a video with Dolby Digital Plus and there aren't many titles with 7.1 LPCM. Both the formats are esoteric.

On the Nexus Player (Android M 6.0.1), there is no audio at all.

I will post the logs a little later.
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-20 23:47 by wesk05.)
find
Hannes The Hun Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,450
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 7
Post: #5
did an adb sideload of this test build on my 2015 Sony X85C Android TV with latest manufacturer firmware (Android 5.1.1 build 2.647).

available options under System Settings/Audio output are:

- DD (AC3)
- DD Plus (E-AC3)
- DTS

so no DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD show up. playback of a test sample (DTS-HD remux) submits DTS (core) to DTS-HD capable Onkyo receiver - which is no surprise since I currently connect audio via optical (too many issues with HDMI ARC). otherwise performance is fine, no stuttering, drops or anything else. no reason on my side why this shouldn't be included in release. will probably try again with ARC in a few days.

OpenElec Standalone --> Asus Chromebox 'Panther' --> Onkyo TX-NR709 --> Sony 55" X85C Android TV (also with Kodi!)
Asus Chromebox EZ Script
Kodi on Sony Bravia Android TVs
find
Tinwarble Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,322
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 44
Location: In a Box.
Post: #6
Everything appears to be working well on the SATV.

AC3 & DTS is now getting passed through correctly to my AVR (was getting just static due to AVR not switching decode mode) & DTS-HD & True-HD are being passed through also. I don't have anything with E-AC3, that I can recall, but I'll test that later.

Nice work guys! I feel like Santa has come a little early.

[Image: appstore_button_google.png]

(This post was last modified: 2015-12-21 01:30 by Tinwarble.)
find
hdmkv Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,362
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 69
Location: SE USA
Post: #7
Samples here. Some links may be down; haven't gotten around to fixing. Will be trying this APK tonight! Good stuff!

[H]i-[d]eft [M]edia [K]een [V]ideosaurus
Kodi 3D MVC Hardware Options
My HT Set-up | Intel D34010WYK NUC and HiMedia Q10 Pro
Kodi A/V Samples wiki
find
Koying Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 4,909
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 153
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #8
We should maybe clarify more :
- DTS and DTS-HD are officially Marshmallow only
- TrueHD has not been confirmed by Google, yet.

The Shield backported DTS and DTS-HD to their lollipop and "anticipated" TrueHD
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-21 02:55 by Koying.)
find
Koying Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 4,909
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 153
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #9
@wesk05 Samples of your esoteric formats are most welcome
find
Groove93 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
I can confirm that I have both Dolby Truehd and DTSMA working with my Nvidia Shield. Shield is attached to Pioneer 1020k receiver.

I Disabled Dolby Digital, DTS (core) and AC3 options within Kodi. This seems to be the only way to Passthrough Lossless Audio in my setup.

Update: I enabled the lossy options and the Lossless Audio is still working.

Movies Used---
The Dark Knight
Iron Man 2
Nausicaa and The Valley of The Wind
300
Casino Royale (can only output as Dolby Digital and not LPCM)
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-21 04:45 by Groove93.)
find
danjames92 Offline
Fan
Posts: 542
Joined: Nov 2015
Reputation: 5
Post: #11
Can also confirm LPCM 7.1 is not working. Outputs PCM with just 2.0 channels with passthrough enabled or disabled. Will try and get some logs if I can work out how to get them off my SHIELD TV.

Mac Mini (2.7GHz, Late 2012, Windows 10, Kodi DSPlayer) | SATV 16GB | Panasonic TX-P50GT50B | Yamaha RX-V675 | Q Acoustics 2010i (FL, FR, Left S, Right S), Q2000ci Center, Q2070si Sub
find
hdmkv Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 3,362
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 69
Location: SE USA
Post: #12
Reposting here what I posted in other nVidia Shield threads. Sorry, should only have been here...

I have a 7.1 system...
- TrueHD 7.1 and DTS-HD MA 7.1 are perfect!
- ATMOS (tested the Dolby 'Amaze' clip) and DTS:X (tested 'Ex Machina') down-map to 7.1 just fine (I don't have an ATMOS or X capable set-up yet)
- DTS-HD MA 5.1 and TrueHD 5.1 play rear surrounds via sides instead (not correct I think)
- Standard Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS 5.1 also play rear surrounds via sides instead (not correct I think)

Haven't tried any Dolby Digital Plus, DTS-HD HR or LPCM 5.1/7.1 tracks yet.

Many HD audio sample clips can be found here. Try the "channel check" ones.

[H]i-[d]eft [M]edia [K]een [V]ideosaurus
Kodi 3D MVC Hardware Options
My HT Set-up | Intel D34010WYK NUC and HiMedia Q10 Pro
Kodi A/V Samples wiki
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-21 03:55 by hdmkv.)
find
war59312 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: SC
Post: #13
I can confirm that DTS-HD works as expected with Nvidia Shield TV and Pioneer 830. Smile

Just make sure you enable Settings > System > Audio output:

Quote:Number of channels: 2.0
Stereo upmix: checked
Maintain original volume on downmix: checked
Enable passthrough: checked
Dolby Digital (AC3) capable receiver: checked
Enable Dolby Digital (AC3) transcoding: NOT checked
Dolby Digital Plus (E-AC3) capable receiver: checked
DTS capable receiver: checked
TrueHD capable receiver: checked
DTS-HD capable receiver: checked
Tested DTS-HD with:

The Terminator
Sicario
Pan
Moon
Avengers: Age of Ultron
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-21 04:29 by war59312.)
find
SofaKng Offline
Donor
Posts: 448
Joined: Mar 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I'll give this a test tomorrow but thanks much for providing the builds and allowing us to test!
find
lartomar2002 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #15
I have a new Sony XBR55X850C android tv conndcted to a Bose V25 Lifestyle system. The Bose does not support 4K so I have the audio going from the Sony tv to the Bose using optical. What audio settings should I use in Kodi. I also have a Nvidia Shield Android TV connected to the Sony tv, would I use the same audio settings in it also? The Nvidia has a better processor than the TV.

Nothing left in my right brain, Nothing right in my left brain :-P
(This post was last modified: 2015-12-21 05:19 by lartomar2002.)
find
Thread Closed