START HERE - Pick the Right Kodi Box (updated Nov 2016)

Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
wrxtasy Offline
Newbie Moderator
Exclamation  START HERE - Pick the Right Kodi Box (updated Nov 2016)
November 2016 update

Time to really simplify the Hardware section for Newbies, this time I'm trying to not get bogged down in heavy technical details

NOTE: There are known limitation and bugs with All the boxes listed below, Post#2 Needs to be read as well for all the Technical details.

Questions and Answers - Recommended Kodi devices.

Nearly all Kodi devices in this section will come with Kodi community, and proper seller and manufacturer after sales support.

Q. I'm a Newbie on a $100 budget using a 1080p TV, I do not need HD Audio and have no audio/video receiver (AVR).
I just want to plug in and power up, and run Kodi with minimal fuss. I don't care about anything else ?
  • Xiaomi Mi Box, mini review HERE
  • WeTek Hub
  • Which device is better for use as a Kodi media player, well read this and make up your own mind.

Q. Fastest - Appliance like - pure - Kodi only boxes running LibreELEC Jarvis (Highly recommended for Kodi use only):
  • Intel Hardware including the Chromebox
  • ODROID C2 (using eMMC Flash storage)

Q. I like to do a bit of DIY and don't mind getting my hands a little bit dirty and learning something in the process ?
(all devices running LibreELEC Kodi Jarvis, unless noted)
  • RPi3
  • ODROID C2
  • WeTek Play2 running this ATV OS ROM and SPMC
  • ASUS Chromebox
  • Intel Hardware
  • Various cheap AMLogic S905 devices, do NOT buy AML S912 devices.

Q. I need the most stable, proven, bullet proof, 1080p Kodi use only, box going around ?
  • ASUS Chromebox running LibreELEC - Kodi Jarvis

Q. Most stable, working, mature, Android Lollipop 5.1.1 - AMLogic Firmware only - Kodi device sellers:
  • MINIX
  • WeTek

Q. Most versatile Kodi boxes, that easily dual boot to Android or LibreELEC Kodi:
  • WeTek Core
  • WeTek Hub
  • WeTek Play2