This is going to be controversial
Chromebox related.

Now I'm not a coder or a developer, I don't have much knowledge regarding the super technical aspects of developing a video player. I do know a lot about technology and a lot about computers, I know my share of c++, c#, vb, etc for coding actually but that has nothing to do with this and I'm not going to pretend to know any more than that. What I do have however, is my eyes and ears.

I've been using a chromebox running OpenELEC for a few months now and before that I was running Kodi on windows for over a year. Version 5.0.something was the first version I ran of OpenELEC, right now I'm running fritch's 6.0.98. And in every version, in every test build, and in every stable version (and I've tested all of them), something about the audio/video sync never seemed right to me, it wasn't out of sync for sure, unless it was by milliseconds but something just didn't seem right to me, it's hard to describe.

Which leads me to this

The recommended settings for the chromebox according to the wiki are...

System-->Settings-->Videos-->Acceleration: Enable HQ Scalers for scalings above: 20%
System-->Settings-->Videos-->Acceleration: Allow hardware acceleration (VDPAU): Off
System-->Settings-->Videos-->Acceleration: Allow hardware acceleration (VAAPI): On (default)
System-->Settings-->Videos-->Acceleration: -Use MPEG-2 VAAPI: On (default)
System-->Settings-->Videos-->Acceleration: -Use MPEG-4 VAAP): On (default)
System-->Settings-->Videos-->Acceleration: -Use VC-1 VAAPI: On (default)
System-->Settings-->Videos-->Acceleration: -Prefer VAAPI render method: On (default)

This is the same for version 5 and 6 of OpenELEC.

And then for video playback settings it's

Deinterlace video : Auto
Deinterlace method : VAAPI Motion compensated
Video scaling method: Lanczos3 optimized (this was Auto for version 5 of OpenELEC)
View mode: normal