Best box for Kodi + USB powered hard drive
Hey,

I am a complete newbie to Kodi and streaming. For the past year, I've been using a WD Media player with an external hard drive to play all my content.

I've been reading and reading, but am so overwhelmed as to which hardware I should get.

My needs are:
1) WiFi is a must (can't do ethernet cable)
2) Must be able to play videos off my USB-powered 2TB Seagate slim hard drive without the need for a powered USB hub (I can't afford a NAS right now and have a lot of downloaded content that my wife needs easy access to).

I have no desire to play games, or for 3D content. All I need is a reliable box to play Kodi with a few add-ons, and to play my content on my USB hard drive reliably.

The most popular ones I have found are the Minix, M8S or the Raspberry Pi 2. I think the Chromebox and Nvidia Shield are out of my price range.

Do you think you would be able to suggest an Android box for me to get based on my two needs listed above? Any user experience and advice you could offer would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks!
Wetek CORE . Dual boots Android + OpenELEC https://www.wetek.com/product/wetek-core , the devs work with the OpenELEC team and support them. Cheaper than the SHIELD which you said is out of your price range. Does 4K H265 , 1080p, HD audio bitstreaming is being worked on, Netflix 1080p. And yeah, it can playback videos off an external HDD (is there any box with a USB port that can`t? Big Grin )
(2015-12-28, 21:52)Soulbind Wrote: Wetek CORE . Dual boots Android + OpenELEC https://www.wetek.com/product/wetek-core , the devs work with the OpenELEC team and support them. Cheaper than the SHIELD which you said is out of your price range. Does 4K H265 , 1080p, HD audio bitstreaming is being worked on, Netflix 1080p. And yeah, it can playback videos off an external HDD (is there any box with a USB port that can`t? Big Grin )