Release - Amazon Echo skill for Kodi

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mcl22 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: May 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1261
Music takes longer. The timeouts mostly occure when asking for some music like "play artist ..."
find quote
jingai Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,027
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 35
Post: #1262
It'll depend on what type of media you have more of, as the skill has to request the entirety of a given media type from Kodi to do its matching.
find quote
jingai Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,027
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 35
Post: #1263
Yeah, piggybacking on what digiltd just said, it's currently not technically supported to say, " Alexa, ask Kodi to play <media>". You should specify the media type for now, like, "Alexa, ask Kodi to play movie Terminator".
find quote
sveni_lee Offline
Fan
Posts: 531
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 9
Post: #1264
(Yesterday 09:52)mcl22 Wrote:  ...
The coolest thing would be to ask kodi just for the channel name. But most channels (in Germany) do have names that, i guess, would cause the same problems. Examples: RTL, Sat1, Pro7, ARD, ZDF, n-tv, n24, ...
It's not possible to do some kind of linking, is it? I mean a possibility to tell the skill something like "if you get a s.t.s. then try sts" or "R.T.L. is RTL" or "Sat eins ist Sat1".

I think that could be done with a JSON in way like this:

chanalTranslate.json
Code:
[{
    "name": "R.T.L.",
    "pvrname": "RTL"
}, {
    "name": "Sat eins",
    "pvrname": "SAT1"
}]


Code:
with open(ChannelTranslateFile, 'r') as transfile:
ChannelTranslate=transfile.read().rstrip('\n')

trans = json.loads(str(ChannelTranslate))
    for tr in trans:
        if channelname == tr['name']:
            writeLog("Translating %s to %s" % (channelname,tr['pvrname']), level=xbmc.LOGDEBUG)
channelname = tr['pvrname']

@jingai please correct me if I'm wrong but I think that could be a possible way...


btw: I have setup my privat WEB-SERVER but I've to call them for version 2.1 (what is the entry point)

Board: B85M-ITX
CPU: i3 4330
GPU: Geforce GTX 750ti
find quote
jingai Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,027
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 35
Post: #1265
@sveni_lee, we're not at a loss for how to go about translating the spoken channel names to the actual channel names. The bigger problem is that we'd rather not maintain this kind of thing. It's the same reason we don't yet have deeper control of addons. Those kinds of things change out from underneath us, and thus require constant maintenance.

For me, personally, I don't even use a PVR, so I really wouldn't want to be responsible for it all. Remember, this is a side project for us. That generally means that, individually, we're most likely to contribute things that a) we'd personally benefit from, and b) aren't going to take more time than we can personally afford to lose from other projects, family obligations, and of course, our real jobs.

When one of us can find the time to work on this, I think the hope is that we can come up with some modifications to the fuzzy matching or something to match things automatically without human intervention. If that can't happen, I think it'd be best if someone else could step up and offer to maintain that piece of the project.

All of that said.. we're currently in the process of restructuring the whole project. That's highest priority and big feature additions aren't likely to happen until we're done.
find quote
jingai Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,027
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 35
Post: #1266
(Today 10:47)sveni_lee Wrote:  btw: I have setup my privat WEB-SERVER but I've to call them for version 2.1 (what is the entry point)

wsgi.py
find quote
Post Reply