enabled live tv caused kodi to freeze [newbie]
Kodi was workoing well without pvr.
just enabled nextpvr and that did not cause any apparent problem.
next step was to enable live tv.
that caused kodi to freeze with no cpu and no change in memory use (per task manager)
Killed kodi task and restarted kodi. On startup kodi freezes showing the blue bubble background (about 52mb memeory use).
Killed kodi task and retarted win7. Restart kodi, still freezes at same point apparently.
reinstalled kodi 12
restart kodi, still freezes at same point (apparently)

i have nextpvr installed and it seems fine, but since I have no tuner I can't be certain.
i only plan to use it with kodi.
Searched for solution without success.

Thanks in advance for any help. ;^)
Why have you installed nextPVR addon if you don't have a backend tuner?
As a newbie I can't say I am certain. I thought it could be used to record from Kodi sources.
(2016-01-03, 21:03)iamjohngalt Wrote: reinstalled kodi 12
Have you tried anything more current? Kodi 12 was a very long time ago. Most people are running Kodi 15. The new Kodi 16 is much better when it comes to PVR support, since it adds scheduled recordings.
Wait - no tuner? NextPVR will be of no use to you if you don't have a tuner. It's for watching/recording live tv from a TV tuner. You can't do that without a tuner.
sub3, my error. First I should have typed Kodi 15.2.
Second, I thought a pvr could be used to record from kodi sources.
Regardless, I still need to know how to resolve this frozen kodi problem.

Edit- OK, edited the guisettings.xml file to disable tv pvr and kodi is working again..
(2016-01-03, 22:12)iamjohngalt Wrote: Second, I thought a pvr could be used to record from kodi sources.

A PVR is a personal VIDEO recorder. It records things from TV stations. I don't know what you mean by "Kodi sources," but I'm guessing you mean streaming video of some sort. You definitely can't make local copies of those using any PVR program of which I'm aware.