Release - Retrospect v4.1.4 (formerly XBMC Online TV) add-on

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 4.57 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Thumbs Up  Retrospect v4.1.4 (formerly XBMC Online TV) add-on
Post: #1
Retrospect v4.1.4

This update of Retrospect is necessary update that fixes some issues with Kodi Krypton. No major stream playback issues, but issues "under the hood". Here is an overview of the biggest changes:
  • Retrospect deploys its channels as Kodi add-ons, whenever you run Retrospect for the very first time, that makes them third party add-ons for Kodi. Within Kodi Krypton, these third party add-ons are disabled by default. This is no problem for Retrospect, as it imports them via other means, however, it apparently prevents them from updating! Big issue there, as many users did not get updates. As a resolution to this, Retrospect now notifies the users about this, redirects them to the Kodi Add-on Explorer and lets them enable the Retrospect related add-ons there.
  • There was an issue with updating the user-agent that Retrospect uses for HTTP calls. No big deal, but it did confuse people whenever they were posting logs as they thought that was the main issue they had.
    No more searching for log files to post if you have issues! From this version on, if you enable debug or trace logging, you can automatically let Retrospect create a private Gist containing your main retrospect.log and previous retrospect.old.log. The URL where you can find the logs (shortened by Google) will be shown to you after a successful post.
  • There was a major rewrite of how we handle Proxies and Local IP's. You can now define both proxy and Local IP per country and then link a channel to these country values. So in the past you might have ended up typing a Swedish proxy for all Swedish channels. Now you only need to create a proxy for Sweden en link all Swedish channels to that proxy. Or even better, let Retrospect update the proxy for all Swedish channels for you.
  • Finally I made the Retrospect internal life a bit better by introducing relative settings pointer. For the end user this has not value, but for Retrospect, making the rather complex settings.xml just became a lot easier! Instead of having to point to "The setting 10 positions up", Retrospect now has a settings.xml template that points to "%setting%" and Retrospect will figure it out after the first run and generate a proper settings.xml. This should be a standard Kodi feature I think.

Note on Kodi Krypton

Kodi Krypton has some focus on security related to third party add-ons and repositories. To make users more aware of this, within Kodi Krypton all non-official repositories and add-ons are disabled by default and need to be re-enabled by the user. That way a user gets aware of what add-ons are not Kodi official and where the add-ons are coming from. As you are (or should be) aware of, Retrospect is such a third party add-on that uses its own repository. Therefore you will need to re-enable the Retrospect Repository and Retrospect itself. More information on how this Kodi features affects Retrospects and updates can be read here. As a reminder:

!! Retrospect should only be installed from the official Retrospect repository !!
Please read the installation instructions

The only official and safe way of installing Retrospect is via the official repository using the official installation instructions. if installed from other locations, we cannot guarantee the quality or safety of the code of the add-on. In other words: code might have been injected if you download it via alternative sources.

Issues
If you encounter any issues, please let me know using the Issue List on the BitBucket page of Retrospect (https://bitbucket.org/basrieter/xbmc-online-tv/issues). Please attach a complete logfile (retrospect.log).

Download
The new version can be downloaded from the XOT site: http://www.rieter.net/content/xot/downloads/.

Thanks to the owner of hamans.com for giving me free bandwidth and jetbrains for providing me with a license to PyCharm Community Edition.

-=== Older Changelogs ===-
More Changelogs can be found at http://www.rieter.net/content/category/xot/changelog/
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-21 16:18 by Basje.)
find quote
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
Just finished an update: Uitzendinggemist v2.1.0. It now also supports RTL4, 5 & 7!
The release can be found on my personal website and soon on www.xbmcscripts.com.

find quote
chiel80 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I installed your script (read it on tweakers.net) and I think it looks very well.
Everything is fine but theres one bug. When you select a program, no matter it is on 1,2,3, 4,5,7 then the next page (page with date selection) pops up very little in the upper left corner. MAybe it helps to tell you i've got an 16:9 Lcd screen. Maybe it has something to do with absolute coding in your script? If you want i can post a screenshot for you?
find quote
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Post: #4
chiel80 Wrote:I installed your script (read it on tweakers.net) and I think it looks very well.
Everything is fine but theres one bug. When you select a program, no matter it is on 1,2,3, 4,5,7 then the next page (page with date selection) pops up very little in the upper left corner. MAybe it helps to tell you i've got an 16:9 Lcd screen. Maybe it has something to do with absolute coding in your script? If you want i can post a screenshot for you?

Strange. But a screenshot would be nice. I would also like to know which version of XBMC (when it was compiled, you can see that at the information panel of XBMC) you have.

find quote
chiel80 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Compile date is april fools day :-)
picture: [Image: screenshot004.jpg]

If you want to discuss in dutch we can do that at tweakers (nick=stampre)
find quote
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Post: #6
chiel80 Wrote:Compile date is april fools day :-)
picture: [Image: screenshot004.jpg]

If you want to discuss in dutch we can do that at tweakers (nick=stampre)
Ok, I think I know what the problem is. Could you uncomment line 127 in default.py.
So change
Code:
#self.setCoordinateResolution(PAL_4x3)
into
Code:
self.setCoordinateResolution(PAL_4x3)

And then let me know the result (and compile date of XBMC).

find quote
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Post: #7
Basje Wrote:Ok, I think I know what the problem is. Could you uncomment line 127 in default.py.
So change
Code:
#self.setCoordinateResolution(PAL_4x3)
into
Code:
self.setCoordinateResolution(PAL_4x3)

And then let me know the result (and compile date of XBMC).

OK, my bad.

It should be:
Code:
win.setCoordinateResolution(PAL_4x3)

find quote
chiel80 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I will do that, but I really dont know how to code/encode of even open an .py file...Blush
find quote
tslayer Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,557
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 12
Post: #9
Do you know how to use notepad?

42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
chiel80 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
That was my firtst thought, maubei can use notepad. So i am fixing it now :-) stupid me :-)
find quote
chiel80 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
chiel80 Wrote:That was my firtst thought, maubei can use notepad. So i am fixing it now :-) stupid me :-)

And problem solved! I have changed row 127 and now its okay! tnx!
find quote
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Post: #12
chiel80 Wrote:That was my firtst thought, maubei can use notepad. So i am fixing it now :-) stupid me :-)

I already fixed it. Will put it on my website asap.

find quote
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Post: #13
Basje Wrote:I already fixed it. Will put it on my website asap.

I cannot edit. So get the update here:
http://www.rieter.net/uitzendinggemist/index.php

find quote
justido Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Hi, wonderful script this is, glad that its still being updated.

I have a problem with it though, a lot of NL1 programs I cant open, for example NL - Radar, I cant open that one, I can click it, but nothing happens, on other shows it does bring up the show list.

Is it something on my side?
find quote
Basje Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,293
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 11
Post: #15
justido Wrote:Hi, wonderful script this is, glad that its still being updated.

I have a problem with it though, a lot of NL1 programs I cant open, for example NL - Radar, I cant open that one, I can click it, but nothing happens, on other shows it does bring up the show list.

Is it something on my side?

Hi Justido,

I check the Ned1 program "Radar" with the latest version of Uitzendinggemist (v2.2.0 see my website at http://www.rieter.net/uitzendinggemist/) and it runs fine.

Please check that you are using the latest version of Uitzendinggemist v2 and check the age of your XBMC build. If so, please describe the exactly when things go wrong (do you get the 'Radar episodes'-listing, or don't they even show up).

Let me know the results.

find quote
Post Reply