Windows - Kore won't connect

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bgmerek23 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hey, all! I have two laptops that are the same. Kore will connect on one of them, but only after I changed the port from 80 to 8080. I can't get it to connect on my other laptop at all, which is of course the one that I want to use as my Kodi server. The Kore app can see both servers. Can anybody help me figure out how I can get the remote to work?
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,707
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 357
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
Kodi is not a server.

Possibly your windows firewall is blocking kore.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
bgmerek23 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I thought of that, but my computer does not allow me to change settings on my firewall. There's not even a button to change settings or anything even though all help sites I went to claim there should be. Any ideas on a workaround for this?
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,707
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 357
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
Sorry I don't know enough about windows to help more.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
thecrunked Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
try making sure your laptop is set to a private network. if its public your firewall might disable it. if that doesnt work try messing with firewall settings.
find quote
rschiks Online
Donor
Posts: 1,786
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 33
Post: #6
Maybe a strange option for a laptop to try, but is possible to connect to Kodi when you're laptop is wired to the network. I had several users which had a problem to connect to Kodi when it was on a wireless network, when the laptop was wired it worked. (Of course this could be that the NIC has a different firewall policy)

Get Kyra for Kodi 2 here
Get Kyra for Kodi here
Get Kyra for Trakt here
(This post was last modified: 2016-03-19 10:03 by rschiks.)
find quote
Danny17 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I had the same problem a few days ago after i said suspend on the app, searched up a ton of forums nothing helps. But it seems i've found the problem.

1)Go to the main Kodi file in the programs list.
2)Look for the file that says "app manifest" and delete it.

This worked for me hope it works for you.(Also if you have bonjour installed it works great.)
find quote
Alexsource Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #8
I had similar issues on win 7 sp1 both with kore and the web interface. Seems that windows firewall kodi setting was on "Private" but not on "Domain". I added "Domain" and it worked again. Not sure how it stopped working Tongue maybe an antivirus update did something (I use AVG Free).
find quote