A strange behavior with the Hello World example
Hello,
Newbie here:

I got this Hello world addon from the wiki page downloaded into a temp folder. I was able to install it succesfully and see it working. With that first phase accomplished I thought that it was time to start modifying my little addon. Not a single time I've been able to install anything if I have it modified first. Not matter how simple the modification is. After hours of trying to find a difference between my modified code and the one downloaded from the wiki I realized that it was vi and kodi who were making me look bad. How? Please see the sequence of events below:

1-Get original zip file from the wiki page
2-mkdir -p /tmp/script.hello.world-master
3-Unzip content of the original zip file into /tmp/script.hello.world-master
4-cd /tmp/script.hello.world-master
5-Open addon.py with vi (I am not using .vimrc)
6-:wq (yes, just save it and quit, no changes at all)
7-cd /tmp
8-zip script.hello.world-master.zip ./script.hello.world-master/*
9-Get to Kodi and install from zip (/tmp/script.hello.world-master.zip)
10-Message from Kodi that the structure is not correct. Could not install Addon

If I do the exact same steps except number 6, Kodi installs perfectly. I was able to set vi with Confusedet binary | set noeol and then :wq does not affect the file. But if I even try to change one single character from the file ( Hello world versus Hello Wolrd, for instance) Kodi will complain.

I've browsed and googled till exhaution but I can't find anything like this. I can't believe Kodi might be such a prima donna but it is behaving like one ;-)

Any idea would be immensely appreciated.
Thank you very much!
Andres