Why can't a single computer host front & back ends?
I'm new to kodi and was reading the Complete Guide, but took notice when it said that at least 2 computers are required.

I definitely see the architectural benefits of separate front and backends, but why is it necessary?

I've been a user of both mythTV and Media Center, and so I'm no stranger to the tech. In my case I use my multiboot system as a TV, using Media Center, and I would like to simply install kodi on that system as it is a far superior front end to Media Center, IMO.

Why won't that work? It's a Windows 7 Ultimate box with 2.4 GHz quad core AMD processor, 8GB RAM, 3TB of disk. It's definitely overkill for watching TV, but unless there's some sort of conflict I don't understand the restriction. The guide said absolutely nothing about why at least 2 machines are required.
You absolutely can run everything from one computer. I had a similar setup for a while myself. Worked just fine.
The guide should probably be called "The complete guide to a multiple machine setup"
Quote:This guide will explain how to set up a personal video recording (“PVR”) system using a computer running Windows 7 and Windows Media Center to record live TV from an over the air antenna and then watch those programs on ordinary televisions using a smaller computer running Kodi (formerly known as XBMC) connected to your TV.

It is a guide on how to use two machines to create the beginning of up a multiple-machine setup.
There are obvious advantages to this type of setup (one machine to do the recordings, multiple small and cheap clients to playback)
Logically if you want to achieve a multiple machine setup, you need multiple machines.

That being said, you can definitely achieve the same with one machine - if you do not mind the disadvantages of a noisy machine next to your primary watching location.
I run a MythTV backend (using Mythbuntu 14.04) and Kodi (Isengard) on the same machine and it works really well for me.