Work in Progress - Ember Media Manager 1.4.8.0 ALPHA - Discussion Thread

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
DanCooper Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,204
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 146
Location: Switzerland
Post: #1336
(2017-05-17 13:18)Bjur Wrote:  Okay thanks I will consider what to do. But are the BETA working absolutely fine and still have many of the same things as the alpha?

The 1.4.7.x Beta is WAYS back in development and no longer supported. I thought you wanted to use an older alpha version that worked for you.

I've to change our (crappy) version designations to help the users to understand which one is working or stable as possible.

Next release will be called 1.5.0 Beta (will be released in next 10-14 days).
That means all features are possible features has been implemented, so we have feature freezed state and I will only fix very bad issues they need to be fixed.

I'm already working on Ember v.2.0 that has been reworked at most of all core funktions, core code and modules/addons. A part of the features that I've promised for Alpha 24 will be only included in the first 2.x release. Sorry for that, but I did not expect it needs so many changes and optimizations.
It is absolutely nonsense to add new features and fix the same errors and problems on two versions.

At the moment, I'm just updating the bug tracker and adding all the steps to the milestones, so you have a little overview of the current state.
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-17 13:47 by DanCooper.)
find quote
Bjur Offline
Fan
Posts: 502
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #1337
okay thank you for the status updateSmile
I have only tried the newest alpha. Came from a very old beta.
I don't know which alpha is the most stable. If you can give a hint it would be niceSmile
find quote
DanCooper Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,204
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 146
Location: Switzerland
Post: #1338
(2017-05-17 13:48)Bjur Wrote:  okay thank you for the status updateSmile
I have only tried the newest alpha. Came from a very old beta.
I don't know which alpha is the most stable. If you can give a hint it would be niceSmile

The most stable and newest one is that one that has been linked in the first post of this thread.
The other ways is to feech the latest state of developing directly from Github and compile it by yourself.
find quote
T-bird_se Offline
Fan
Posts: 371
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 12
Location: Sweden
Post: #1339
(2017-05-17 13:48)Bjur Wrote:  okay thank you for the status updateSmile
I have only tried the newest alpha. Came from a very old beta.
I don't know which alpha is the most stable. If you can give a hint it would be niceSmile

It's only you who have reported those problems, so not much to go on
Just asking, did you do a fresh install or did you updated an old installation?
It's possible to create a new profile in Ember and start from scratch, just make a new empty folder under profiles folder and see if that helps
Everything in your default profile is untouched so it's like 2 separate installations
find quote
Bjur Offline
Fan
Posts: 502
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #1340
(2017-05-17 17:46)T-bird_se Wrote:  
(2017-05-17 13:48)Bjur Wrote:  okay thank you for the status updateSmile
I have only tried the newest alpha. Came from a very old beta.
I don't know which alpha is the most stable. If you can give a hint it would be niceSmile

It's only you who have reported those problems, so not much to go on
Just asking, did you do a fresh install or did you updated an old installation?
It's possible to create a new profile in Ember and start from scratch, just make a new empty folder under profiles folder and see if that helps
Everything in your default profile is untouched so it's like 2 separate installations
Have tried.
See post #1296
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=259449&page=87
find quote
Bjur Offline
Fan
Posts: 502
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #1341
Where can I find older alpha release to try out?
find quote
Bjur Offline
Fan
Posts: 502
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #1342
I think I have actually found a solution. If I run x86 (32 bit version) on my WHS 2011 64 bit version it works..
find quote
Boulder Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 2
Post: #1343
I'm having problems scraping the TV show "Agatha Christie's Poirot". The actors for each episode are not being updated, it looks like they all have the same actors as one certain episode. I've tried rescraping the field and also changed the scraper for that information to IMDB. The nfo files are also not updated, at least the timestamp remains the same.
find quote
T-bird_se Offline
Fan
Posts: 371
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 12
Location: Sweden
Post: #1344
(2017-05-17 13:45)DanCooper Wrote:  I've to change our (crappy) version designations to help the users to understand which one is working or stable as possible.

Next release will be called 1.5.0 Beta (will be released in next 10-14 days).
That means all features are possible features has been implemented, so we have feature freezed state and I will only fix very bad issues they need to be fixed.

I'm already working on Ember v.2.0 that has been reworked at most of all core funktions, core code and modules/addons. A part of the features that I've promised for Alpha 24 will be only included in the first 2.x release. Sorry for that, but I did not expect it needs so many changes and optimizations.
It is absolutely nonsense to add new features and fix the same errors and problems on two versions.

At the moment, I'm just updating the bug tracker and adding all the steps to the milestones, so you have a little overview of the current state.

Thanks for that, it will help allot
Looking forward for new versions and assisting on ironing the bugs out Smile

Thanks again for your work
find quote
tr0nllam Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1345
I know you've mentioned in the past that the IMDB TV Scraper is slow because you have to parse each individual webpage to get the data, but I may have a better solution.

Instead of going to each episode page to scrape the data, would using http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2661044/epdate and http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2661044/epcast be quicker? The first URL lists the episode ratings for the entire series, while the second URL has the episode numbers, title, cast list, episode data, and plot summary for each episode on one single page.

Along with the main series page, that should allow you to scrape all the data without having to load a new webpage for every episode.
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-23 10:05 by tr0nllam.)
find quote
badbob001 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #1346
I hope 1.5 fixes the issue where TV Movies are not searched.
find quote
DanCooper Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,204
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 146
Location: Switzerland
Post: #1347
(2017-05-24 16:00)badbob001 Wrote:  I hope 1.5 fixes the issue where TV Movies are not searched.
?
find quote
badbob001 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #1348
(2017-05-24 16:32)DanCooper Wrote:  
(2017-05-24 16:00)badbob001 Wrote:  I hope 1.5 fixes the issue where TV Movies are not searched.
?

I posted about it here but it got no reply:
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2578377

Basically, no results will be found for a TV Movie, despite TV Movies being enabled in the search settings.
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-24 19:34 by badbob001.)
find quote
Post Reply