Solved What Ad-On for LiveTV on RPi2-Jesse Kodi 15.2
Smile 
Hi - newbie here - Below is the hardware/software on my setup:
-
hardware
I have a RPi 2, 8gb SD card, mounted onto the official 7" touch screen set to 800x480i, Connected to my home network using Cat-6
Home network is connected to internet by Charter Cable Internet [so is my TV and DVR and ROKU & PCs and Wireless Router]
I used NOOBS to install Jesse
The on-screen matchbox-keyboard is working
The device will be in the kitchen - embedded into my 35 year old Nutone intercom like this fellow did LINK
-
software
I installed Kodi 15.2 [I think --- I can't figure out how to determine the Kodi version from the Skin = re-Touched]
I can successfully listen to music stored on my NAS, streaming radio, and connect to Pandora radio using Pandoki [great app by the way]
-
I really would like some help to enable LiveTV so my Wife and I could watch/listen to the morning news & weather.
When I try to enable LiveTV I get an error pop-up saying I need a "tuner, backend software, and an add-on for the backend"
Then it says to visit "kodi.wiki/view/PVR" which is essentially a bland screen or index - so it didn't help.
-
I have fully read the thread that Kodi 15 does not support LiveTV and got more and more confused.
Would some nice person please suggest the method [apt-get?] for a backend and frontend so I can get the live TV working?
Oh and I'm linux-challenged, so please be kind and simplify your answer.
-
Thanks - quite grateful for the help.
Jim [near] St. Louis, MO.
System Stats:
RPi 2B, 8gb SD, Reformatted for this new install.
LibreELEC (official) v 8.0.2 [kernel: Linux 4.9.29]
from NOOBS v2.4.2 on 7/19/17
Official RPi foundation 7" touchscreen
Kodi 17.3; Skin = Estouchy
The Pi connects USB wireless to Home WiFi EA4500 router
Home network: Netgear 104 9TB NAS as \\storage\
Before you can have a backend to provide LiveTV to Kodi, you need a service to provide LiveTV to your backend.