Best Practice - tvheadend server vs. Vu+
Hi all,
I am planing a new house and I am looking for the best way to add multimedia to our house.

Attached my project ideas:

General Environment
  • I have a DVB-S2 environment (Quad LNB)
  • Apart from the Multimedia Stuff, I am rolling out a an KNX System
  • 19'' Rack in the cellar with 1 Gbit Switch + Cat6 cables going into every room
  • In total 4 Clients: 1xTV in Living Room, 2xTV in Children Room, 1xBeamer plus maybe mobile devices

Concept 1
Until now, I used to watch TV with a Dreambox 800SE (Cable). So the first idea is to attach SAT-Receivers (Dreambox or Vu+) to every room and have a decentralized environment.

Concept 2
Install one or two Vu+ Receivers in the cellar and bring the image via HDMI directly to the TVs in the rooms

Concept 3
Install one or two Vu+ Receivers in the cellar and stream the TV signals to kodi clients

Concept 4
I am not an expert, but from what I understand. I can have a central tvheadend server with multiple tuners (maybe 4 tuners) in my rack in the cellar. Then just use Kodi on Rasberries or whatever to show the HD TV stream.

Especially for the last concept with tvheadend + kodi, I would like to know your experience/recommendations:

1. What are the advantages/drawbacks of such an environment?
  2. It must be easy to use (select tv-channel, see EPG and configure recordings (PVR))
  3. What Hardware would you recommend for the central Server (remember 4 tuners, transcoding etc.) and the clients?
  4. How to bring Dolby Surround to my main TV/AVR or would you even do the speaker setup decentralized as well?

Thanks for your answers!
Do you need pay-TV or all of your channels FTA?
What is the transcoding for ? (Kodi on the Pi doesn't need MPEG2 or VC-1 SD or HD to be transcoded - it can play it unmodified)
Concept 3 works for me pretty darn well, with a few Openelec Intel NUC's and Vu+ Solo2 and some 5000 satchannels (+ USB-T) from 8 satellites.