Yellow square in corner pi3
(2016-03-16, 01:17)Ned Scott Wrote: Don't you mean the bottom? The metal part should be the top.

No I mean the top plastic clip on cover, I figure it could be keeping the heat in
Probably not the correct plase to ask since the thread is about heat issues.
But as the FLIRC case is good at keeping the new RPI-3 cooler, are there any issues with the wifi/bt when the device is used within this diecast(?) FLIRC case?
What sort of speeds does one see when the RPi is both inside and outside the FLIRC case (that is does the case impeed the signals in any way)?
I'm a XBMC novice :)
Nate Thomas made a nice video showing off the Raspberry Pi 3 using the Flirc case and the wifi worked fine. There are limitations for the wifi module itself... I haven't tested it yet, though I've read the connection is just above 40 Mbps in optimal conditions. So I wouldn't expect modern wifi speeds.
Used the FLIRC case today and it stayed around the 62c mark, much more like it. The real test will probably be in the height of summer.
I think it should be fine even during the summer. If not tjen you can use a fan to keep both you AND the pi cool Smile
Sad 
Arg.
My pi started to get the yellow square on the right informing me its getting hot.
currently have

Will changing the overclock settings cool it?
Or shall i get a FLIRC case?

Thanks
N
Avoiding anything that will push the CPU frequency to it's maximum for sustained periods. Yes, the Flirc case would be a good option. If you don't need the extra space savings, then consider avoiding HEVC on the Pi until you can cool it sufficiently.
It seemed to start overheating when i chucked the Aeon Nox SiLVO them on the rpi3.

hmmm i will try the FLIRC case and see if they helps.
I hope the little heatsink i put on it comes off easily...

thanks
n
I can confirm that ever since I installed my Pi3 in an FLIRC case i haven't had any overheating problems