Prevent Windows sleep command when television recording is in progress?
Hi! Is there a way to prevent a Windows system command to put the system to sleep when Kodi is in the middle of recording a television show? I've been using Kodi for about 8 or 9 months now after Microsoft all but abandoned Windows Media Center last summer, and this is the one aspect of WMC that I can't seem to figure out how to configure with Kodi.

Quick background on why I'm asking: I have the hardware button on our HTPC's case set up to put the system to sleep. If someone accidentally presses the wrong button on our Harmony remote, it will trigger our HTPC to go to sleep while the remote turns on another device. OR, if our little toddler decides once again to press the big glowing power button on the front of the case, it again goes to sleep. Most of the time, that's not a big deal, but if Kodi happened to be recording a show at the time, it stops doing so, and the system proceeds to go to sleep, leaving me with a partial recording.

Previously, when WMC was in the middle of a recording, my system would ignore the power/sleep command. Is there anyway to get my HTPC to have that same behavior when Kodi is recording? I'm using Kodi 16.0 on Windows 8.1.

Thanks!
Try MCE Standby Tool "away mode"
(2016-04-19, 17:14)k4sh1n Wrote: Try MCE Standby Tool "away mode"

That program hasn't been updated in over 5 years, and hasn't had a non-beta release in almost 8 - the site doesn't even list Windows 7 as a recognized version of Windows. Is this tool still useful today? Also, what does "away mode" allow me to do? I can't tell from its brief description on that site. Thanks!
Away mode is somewhat what you asked in OP

Quote:Is this tool still useful today?

The question is subjective, maybe try it and see if its useful to you, dunno bout 8.1, but works fine on Win 7.
Since kodi doesn't do any of the recording, i guess it's up to the backend solution to take care of this.