Solved Configured Just the Way I Want It - How to forklift it to new device
Hi, I'm a noob. Been looking at the howto's and forums but don't see a scenario that fits. Hope you can help.

I'm slowly configuring my Kodi just like I like it with my repo's Video, Audio and Weather addons and all of their individual configurations. I've added shortcuts (?) to my favorite addons under their respective menu category (Video, Audio) I haven't done anything with the skin, but may if I get really ambitious. I'm doing this on my ubuntu laptop.

Once I'm totally happy with my config, I'd like build a Raspberry PI with OpenELEC and "fork lift" everything I've done onto it, so that I have a tiny form factor device connected to my TV instead of the big laptop. I don't want to re-do everything I've meticulously configured. Is there a way to pack it all up in a file(s), that I copy to and lay down on my RaspPI? Can a configuration done on one OS be transferred to another. Tho ubuntu and OpenELCE are linux, I also have an old dell optiplex with Win7 that I could stick next to one TV, and wonder if I can drop the config on to it as well?

Related to this, and looking a little ahead, since Kodi has a "10 ft interface" I need to drive my OpenELEC build with a conventional remote control, not a keyboard wired to it, or even a wireless Keyboard. Any suggestions on how to put a remote receiver on a RaspPI and a good remote to use?

Thanks very much
Quote:Related to this, and looking a little ahead, since Kodi has a "10 ft interface" I need to drive my OpenELEC build with a conventional remote control, not a keyboard wired to it, or even a wireless Keyboard. Any suggestions on how to put a remote receiver on a RaspPI and a good remote to use?
DIY IR receiver http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=...O_Receiver

If your tv ha CEC why not use that.

Or a usb IR receiver https://thepihut.com/products/flirc-usb-...spberry-pi