artwork
Hello,

I am new to Kodi and am researching the proper naming conventions for image files (poster.jpg vs. <moviename>-poster.jpg) as well as their proper placement within the folder structure so that Kodi can properly scrape them and render them.

Form what I gather, the main difference pertains to WHERE the image is placed within the "movies" directory. Is this correct?

Scenario 1 : If I am keeping the image files within separate folders for each movie...
  • C:\movies\moviename\poster.jpg

• C:\movies\moviename\folder.jpg

Scenario 2 : If I am keeping all movies in one large folder...
  • C:\movies\moviename-poster.jpg

Can someone tell me if I am using proper placement within the folder structure and correct syntax please?

Also, can someone tell me how I should name NFO files please?

Thank you.
The 'folder.jpg' convention was depreciated some time ago, but is still supported to some extent. Use unforgiven-poster.jpg and you'll be progressive. If you export your images, you will find C:\movies\moviename-poster.jpg regardless of a community folder or individual separate folders. On the scrape if there is a file called 'posters.jpg' found with the video, it will be used. If you have a folder with No direct videos in it, and it has poster.jpg/folder.jpg within, that will be used as the cover for that folder should there be videos in a sub folder within. I know plain as mud.Artwork (wiki).

Consider using Artwork Downloader in-conjunction with individual separate folders for each video, in the long run it will be easier.
Thanks for taking the time to respond - that helped to clarify things.
Also be aware that not all NFO files are actually NFO files. Open some of yours up in notepad to check them. Most of the ones that appear with torrent downloads are junk text files

Here are the correct rules for creating them. Head for section 2 and you'll see links to take you to movies or tv show examples.

http://kodi.wiki/view/Nfo_files