v16 Controll Kodi from Rpi gpio buttons [SOLVED]
I think OSMC has a different implementation of RPI.GPIO that you can install, as I think RPi.tools is designed for LibreElec.

But if you do that then you will need to change the script to point to its new location (similar to post #26 above, but it will probably be in a different place again).

Aside from that you may need to ask on the OSMC forum (or ask Sam here) as OSMC seems to handle things differently from LE in terms of its user on which everything runs (LE runs things as root by default). The script may need to be run with root or sudo priv's to allow access to the GPIO, if the OSMC implementation of GPIO doesn't take care of that by default.

I'm not a great expert on OSMC as I've only installed it a couple of times for various testing - all of my active Pi's use LibreElec and the add-on was designed for its needs.
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|

Kodi Blog Posts
Sorry for the grave dig...

I've tried Darren's add on and it installs just fine via the add on.
However, I only want to adjust volume via 2 GPIO's (one up, one down)
I've edited the py script to change the function of 2 buttons, but I cannot get the zip to install.
Kodi keeps coming up with an error.
I thought it might have been an issue with Windows and the compression tool, so tried 7zip and the compress tool within Raspian.
no luck Sad
Ok, so I've solved my issue.
When I was re-zipping the script and XML it was creating another level of sub folders.
fixed that and its working !!
(2016-05-13, 23:08)DarrenHill Wrote: OK, you should be able to download the current (final) version of my script, set up as a service add-on so that it runs at start-up - click here.