Beginner - How should I start with xbmc and what should I get?
Hi there

very first time I'm in this forum and I hope my questions is not too bland. I'm an absolute noob when it comes to xbmc kodi openelec and stuff like that. My journey is a little bit different... I'm coming from my first Raspberry Pi2 experience using Rasbian and FHEM for home automatisation. I don't know why but somehow I got hooked on this little box and I just want to get more and more. Smile

Anywho... I was thinking... what else can i do with an Raspberry Pi. The obvious answer is a media center. I have all my DVDs copied to a hard drive which is basically just laying around because I'm to lazy to hook it up.

So this is my plan: hope you can give me some tips where I should start.
  1. get a NAS - The idea is to get a Synology two drive storage to hold the content. Any advice which one would be recommended. Do I need a play version or a "j" or the normal models?
  2. get a RPI - Which one is preferred RPI2 or RPI3?
  3. Install xbmc distro - What would be recommended for a noob? Kodi or OpenElec (thoose are my results of my research so far)
  4. have fun watching - I don't need nothing fancy just plain watching

Since I would to start now to get a NAS I would really appreciate a recommendation. Do I need the "play" since it handles transcoding for the RPi or is that not necessary?

Thanks
Tinko
The first time user (wiki) notes may help to kick things off.

Personally I'd say a Pi3 with either LibreElec or OSMC and just hook your hard drive up to it initially. Personally I use LibreElec, it's a bit more streamlined but also a bit more cut down and focused on our media playing.

But try them both (and OpenElec and Xbian too) and see which works for you. It's just burning an image onto your uSD card in each case.
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|