Newbie needing help. Right click doesn't go "back" it takes me all the way out.
First off I am a complete noob at using Kodi. I'm learning more the more I read and use it but there is still a lot I have to understand.

Here is my problem. Let's say for this demonstration I am browsing through my television shows folders. So for example I go to Horror, Horror TV, then Penny Dreadful, then Season 1. I decide I want to back out and check out Season 2 instead. If I right click the mouse button it does not take me back to Penny Dreadful, it instead ejects me all the way back to Home, where I then have to click back through all the menu's to get to where I want to be. The only way to "back out" properly is to click the "..." at the top of most menus, which often requires a bunch of scrolling up first. Plus I repeatedly forget because right click feels natural as it is the way to back out of menus in a ton of other programs and games.

Does anyone know how to fix this? I would really appreciate some help. Just some simple instructions would be great. I have tried googling it but most topics related to this either seem to be trouble shooting for android phones, or someone just links the person to another forum, that then links that person to a very technical page on remapping without any clear indication of what to remap or where to even find it. Basically it's assuming you already know every aspect of this program, when I do not.

Basically I want the right click to function as a back button, rather than an escape button. The back button on my iphone remote works like it should, the problem is only on Windows
I can confirm that my right click does not take me back as it should either. You can override the current command by creating an XML file to change the right click function and copy the file to your "Keymaps" Folder.

To do this. Open "Notepad" copy the following line into Notepad.

<keymap><global><keyboard><key id="57345">back</key></keyboard></global></keymap>