Which box to buy?
Hello everyone,

I'm aware this question is going to annoy a lot of users but i had to ask again in my own words.

I'm not very technical as a lot users over here seem to be and I did read a couple of topics before posting my own, but my question is that I'm looking for a tv box which will stream TV and sports without lagging.

I'm not looking to play games on it or watch netflix or anything, just an alternative to cut my cable and be able to watch live TV and live sports.

I don't currently have any knowledge as to when users talk about terms like 'OpenELEC / LibreELEC' or 'RPI2/RPI3' etc...

I'm aware that watching live sports and TV is going to depend on the addon library i add to kodi and isn't a topic for this thread.

Thank you for taking time to answer my question!
You need to think about whether you want to run it on windows, linux, android, or even a mac.
Do you need 4K?
Do you have any special sound requirements?
Do you need 3D?
Do you need a remote? Do you need a keyboard?

The terms RPi2/RPi3 refer to Raspberry Pi 2 or Raspberry Pi 3 which can run OpenELEC or LibreELEC, which are purposebuilt OSes for Kodi. The raspberry pi is a slick option for a relatively cheap and full featured box.

Honestly, this thread stickied at the top of the forum is really helpful: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=252916

I suggest you read up some more and then consider your needs and then revisit that thread ^.
NVidia Shield Pro
Firestick
Wetek Core
Panasonic P60ST30
Biggest tip of the lot if you are a Newbie. Buy something that has both seller and Kodi forum after sales support.
Buying a unknown Kodi box off Amazon or EBay and you will be on your own fixing issues.
You will be lied to, dazzled with tech specs at cheap prices and seduced by offers of free this and that.

Most of them are buggy, Pirate rubbish as well and come with paid for Hyped up reviews from users that don't have a clue what they are talking about.