Help me understand Kodi
Question 
Hi,

I hope I'm posting in the right section of the forum, if not, please move appropriately.

I'm new to Kodi, and I hope I can get some clarification on the system in general and on some legality issues I'm unclear about.

I've read some of the posts here and elsewhere on how Kodi is a legitimate system, yet it can (and often is) used to stream illegal content. There also seems to be a lot of illegitimate hardware (boxes) that use and "promote" Kodi.

To try and simplify what I'm trying to ascertain:

I recently bought (on Amazon UK) one of these boxes that I'm now beginning to suspect is one of these illegal/illegitimate boxes. It's a Seguro Mini M8S box.

Can anyone confirm this, and furthermore, am I right in my interpretation of the stuff about Kodi I've read so far that there are legitimate boxes with Kodi on them, and illegitimate ones? Or is it not that simple?

If my box is an illegitimate one, what's illegitimate about it?

I'm just struggling to understand the whole ecosystem (if that's the right word) and the rights and wrongs of it.

I hope my question is not too unclear or badly phrased and that someone can enlighten me.

Many thanks,

Vlad.
It's typically about what gets pre-installed on the box, and/or sub-par support from the company behind that specific brand. Sometimes you can just install a fresh copy of Kodi and there won't be any issues. The physical box itself is a whole other can of worms (quality of parts, etc), but less of a "legitimate" (or not) issue.
(2016-07-02, 18:15)Ned Scott Wrote: It's typically about what gets pre-installed on the box, and/or sub-par support from the company behind that specific brand. Sometimes you can just install a fresh copy of Kodi and there won't be any issues. The physical box itself is a whole other can of worms (quality of parts, etc), but less of a "legitimate" (or not) issue.

Hi, thanks very much for taking the time to reply.