Using Kodi to Record with my Cable Box
Hello,

I'm looking to record from my cable box like my Tivo used to a long time ago.

Simple setup:
* Component output from my cable box goes to my Kodi box.
* IR Transmitter comes out of my Kodi box and sticks onto the front of my cable box.
* Kodi is in charge of changing the channel (Via scheduled listings) and recording to an External USB drive.

Is this possible?

What hardware would you recommend? I'm thinking a windows PC stick but I would need the right in/outputs.

By the way, I'm a Kodi rookie but otherwise very technical. Thanks to any experts that can offer advice.
Yes. Two paths I would recommend:

1. HDHomeRun Prime, if your cable company flags most channels as "copy freely". A few software options exist for the PVR backend.

2. If not, a component capture card, IR blaster, and MythTV as a software backend.

The MythTV setup is somewhat complicated, so let's hope we don't have to do that for now. What cable provider do you have?
Thanks Ned,
I have Cablevision.

Do you know of a way to combine a component capture card ir/blaster into a tiny device like a windows pc stick?
No, you'll probably need an hd-pvr.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
(2016-07-14, 22:38)jimerb Wrote: Thanks Ned,
I have Cablevision.

Do you know of a way to combine a component capture card ir/blaster into a tiny device like a windows pc stick?

I've seen them in PCI/PCIe form, but not sure about USB stick form. They probably exist, though.