VNC client in Kodi
Question 
I've been using Kodi on Raspberry Pi for 3 years and am grateful to the team and community for having created such an outstanding piece of software!

Every now and then, I need to view some non-media content (usually web browser) on my TV. I've tried a few things:
  1. Dual-boot Raspbian & OSMC (NOOBS) and boot into Raspbian to browse - However, for some reason, OSMC updates don't work reliably with such a setup
  2. I could try to install Kodi over Raspbian but from what I've learnt, the repository only has Isengard
  3. Stream content via RTSP using a .strm file - In this case, there's too large a delay (about 10 seconds) for it to be usable

As of now, the only way I can achieve the desired result, is by connecting my laptop directly to the TV via HDMI, after which I need to also connect a wireless keyboard/mouse in order for the setup to be usable.

Theoretically speaking, what would be the best approach for creating a VNC client for Kodi?

I've had a look at the add-on documentation and I don't see a way to render to the screen directly. The only way I can think of trying to achieve this using the add-on framework, is generating images and rendering those on-screen based on a timer. But that just seems extremely inefficient.

The other solution that I can think of, is implementing a VNC codec that establishes a connection with the server, receives VNC messages and renders content as a video stream. Connection information could be stored in a .vnc file (similar to .strm). Having said that, I have no experience with codecs and I realize I could be headed in absolutely the wrong direction with this idea. Do let me know if that is the case.

I'd love to hear some thoughts on these ideas and other ideas on the subject. I'll definitely consider implementing this if someone can point me in the right direction.

Thanks!
Thread moved to the Pi section - discussions is not for support requests