Home screen Menu "Builder" - add/remove/reorder - within Settings GUI
It would be nice to be able to have a section in the Settings GUI that allowed easy modifications (add/remove/reorder) to the home screen menu. Many of us like to have custom items on the button scrollers like direct access to Scripts, MAME, separate TV Shows/Movies sections, etc.

Having a GUI based Home menu "builder" would be sweet and remove some of the confusion for noobies as to how to do it and what settings to use to get a specific menu view (library, files, etc).

This would also allow ease of mod when scripts no longer work, etc... seems to happen a lot Wink
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
This is a function of the skin, not core XBMC, for the simple reason that there are so many variations possible.

Those skins that use static content in a list make this very easy to alter - a single .xml file (similar to favourites.xml) can be used to control it, and hiding items is easy via a skin setting, though order and adding new items requires editting the XML - it's pretty simple to do though (and I'm sure a simple python script could be knocked up to achieve it).

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

I understand it is based in the skin but so are many other things that are controlled/changed via the GUI. This is about making some very cool skins easy change on the fly and easy to set for a noobie.

Is it possible to have the 'wraplist' or 'buttonscroller' dynamic based on guisettings.xml thus enabling it to be set via the GUI?
It's possible, but that then pretty much requires the skin to have that functionality.

I prefer skinners have total control (if possible) over their skins.