Android [SOLVED] SMB issues with TSReader streaming
I have been running Kodi with the Mediaportal PVR plugin for several months. The Mediaportal server and Kodi are all running on the same Windows 7 PC. I am now attempting to run Kodi on my Android TV and use the same Windows 7 Mediaportal server. I can get the Kodi Mediaportal PVR addon to connect ok - it picks up the TV guide and shows me all the recorded shows I have on the server. However playing live TV or playing a recorded show fails if I use the TSReader method. I can get it to work if I use FFMpeg method but the quality of this is unusable (slow and pixelated)

The problem appears to be SMB related and is specific to my Android Kodi client(s). I can run Kodi on another Windows 10 PC and connect to my Windows 7 Mediaportal server and play everything with TSReader perfectly. I have the identical errors if I install and configure Kodi on an Android tablet.

I think my problem is SMB related because when I attempt to browse SMB shares from within Kodi file manager on Android I get an error - Error 2: share not available. However if I create a network connection to the IP address of my mediaportal PC and include port 445 on the address I am then able to view all the SMB shares on the PC ie 192.168.1.66:445. I also specify the username and password on this connection both being 'tv'. If I specify user or password incorrectly I am unable to browse the shares. So I have proven that I can browse SMB shares from Android devices but only if I specify the IP address of host with port 445 and with correct username and password. Browsing from the Windows 10 PC works fine without having to specify port 445.

My Windows 7 PC is called TV-PV. Its IP address is 192.168.1.66. I have set up SMB shares on this PC for the timeshift buffer and for recorded shows on this PC. Share for recorded show is \\TV-PC\Temp (the actual folder is c:\temp)