Need a cheap box with 2GB RAM and HEVC capabilities
(2016-10-08, 21:45)RamboUnchained Wrote: Thanks for that info. Unfortunately, I have no way to make an ethernet connection in the places where I need these boxes, so a strong 5GHz receiver will have to do. 70% of my library is encoded at 720p in the HEVC main profile at a bitrate between 600-1500 with either stereo AAC or stereo AC3, so the bandwidth demands over the network aren't too hefty. I've been re-encoding my library practically non-stop for nearly 8 months and have freed up 2TB of space in that time. And with new rips, seeing them shrink from 25GB to 7-9GB without losing much noticeable quality is amazing. I've pushed my little S802 chip to it's limits. It plays most of my episodes without a hitch, but movies are really choppy since they're 1080p, HEVC Main10, with either DD5.1 or DTA-MA 7.1. Half of my PTVL movie channels won't even play in my living room lol.

Did you order your C2 and accessories from hardkernel or Amazon?
You will be fine with just dual band WiFi then.

These are the WIFI chipsets compatible with the C2's Linux Kernel:
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=139&t=21808

RTL8812AU USB ones are AC WiFi

I ordered from HardKernel in S. Korea, cheap shipping. It took ages to get to Australia. I think users find buying locally within their own countries quicker and there are no surprise taxes to pay.

Also be aware you need a HardKernel C2 or programmable Harmony remote if you want to use the Off / On IR function with LibreELEC.

Ok, so I'm on the hardkernel site and it says "dispatch in 7 days" on all of their products. Does this mean that it will be 7 days before it's even shipped or something else?
Where are you living? Might be better to buy it from a distributor of your country.
(2016-10-09, 18:56)infinity85 Wrote: Where are you living? Might be better to buy it from a distributor of your country.

I'm in the US.