Can't play video files
All;
I am new to the Kodi software so forgive me if my question is obvious. I have a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B and am using the OSMC distribution. I was able to get things up and running and imported all of my music and video files without an issue. I can also listen to my music files without a problem. The problem that I am having is that every time I double click on a video, all I get is a screen with an "unhappy" face. I have Kodi set up on an Android tablet and an Unbuntu laptop and they both display videos fine. I'm not sure what I am missing with the Raspberry Pi. Any insight at all would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks;
FSD
Debug log (wiki)
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Could they be mpeg2 files from a source such as dvd rips or live tv as you need the an additional licence to play those on a RPi.
DVDs directly played via an attached DVD drive rather than DVD rips, as the rips normally would be mp4 or mkv or similar which play fine.

The licences are only needed to enable hardware support. They will play without them via software, but the performance is obviously a lot worse.

The key question for the OP is what format the video files are in, and where they came from.
|Banned add-ons (wiki)|Forum rules (wiki)|VPN policy (wiki)|First time user (wiki)|FAQs (wiki) Troubleshooting (wiki)|Add-ons (wiki)|Free content (wiki)|Debug Log (wiki)|

Kodi Blog Posts
Nope dvd's ripped to mkv keep the mpeg2 video, you can also rip the the whole dvd to hdd as folder structure and iso so it's an exact copy of dvd so will also keep the mpeg2 video. However didn't know that about the licence, could have sworn I'd seen posts that you couldn't play mpeg2 at all without it, must be confused with people asking about hardware acceleration.