Kodi 17 - PVR-Streams start with delay of 6-8 secs

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bigbadrabbit Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: Austria
Post: #31
ksooo suspected a video player problem.

@FernetMenta
So you say, there's nothing you can do or look into with all the information, logs etc. in this thread?

Kodi Krypton
macOS Sierra 10.12
Mac mini (late 2012)
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-18 17:35 by bigbadrabbit.)
find quote
rainman74 Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 3
Post: #32
@FernetMenta that's no problem! Please generate an m3u8 file with a free german live-stream and start it in Kodi with file manager:

--- master.m3u8 ----
#EXTM3U
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=184000,RESOLUTION=320x180,CODECS="avc1.66.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=184000,RESOLUTION=320x180,CODECS="avc1.66.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=320000,RESOLUTION=480x270,CODECS="avc1.66.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=320000,RESOLUTION=480x270,CODECS="avc1.66.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=608000,RESOLUTION=512x288,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=608000,RESOLUTION=512x288,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=1216000,RESOLUTION=640x360,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=1216000,RESOLUTION=640x360,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=1992000,RESOLUTION=960x540,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=1992000,RESOLUTION=960x540,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=2691000,RESOLUTION=960x540,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=2691000,RESOLUTION=960x540,CODECS="avc1.77.30, mp4a.40.2"
http://daserste_live-lh.akamaihd.net/i/d...&rebase=on
--- master.m3u8 ----
find quote
rainman74 Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 3
Post: #33
forum destroyed the links, here's the file: https://1drv.ms/u/s!Au4QgT0yuh6DkEJ48BROZ4uNgYwC
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,166
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 139
Location: Munich
Post: #34
Thanks, I tried this on my dev branch. If there was an issue, it's already fixed there.
https://goo.gl/photos/PxdNc5Fib57JNLd88
find quote
rainman74 Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 3
Post: #35
yes, the bug is fixed in your video! :-)

Is it possible to integrate 'the fix' in Kodi 17.1 final or next RC?
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-18 18:14 by rainman74.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,166
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 139
Location: Munich
Post: #36
The difference between my dev branch and v17 is huge, also ffmpeg is upgraded. Would mean a lot of work to narrow this down and than no guarantee if some fix for v17 could be factored out easily. Backports to v17 need to be nonintrusive changes.
find quote
yomo86 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
(2017-03-18 20:31)FernetMenta Wrote:  The difference between my dev branch and v17 is huge, also ffmpeg is upgraded. Would mean a lot of work to narrow this down and than no guarantee if some fix for v17 could be factored out easily. Backports to v17 need to be nonintrusive changes.

Well, I sincerely thank you for addressing and shining light on the problem. From my understanding of your professional opinion the final of Kodi 18 - if not a further RC of 17 - will most likely include the fix?
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-18 21:53 by yomo86.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,166
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 139
Location: Munich
Post: #38
Yes, v18 should have it fixed.
find quote
rainman74 Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 3
Post: #39
(2017-03-19 09:45)FernetMenta Wrote:  Yes, v18 should have it fixed.

that's good and bad, because it surely will take 1/2 - 1 year till v18 is at RC ... :-(
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,166
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 139
Location: Munich
Post: #40
I run the version of my dev branch in my living room. Why is it not good enough for you?
find quote
rainman74 Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Oct 2015
Reputation: 3
Post: #41
if it is stable enough, then I'll give it a try of course! ;-)

Do you mean: Kodixxx-20170318-xxxxxxxx-master ?
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-19 23:41 by rainman74.)
find quote
indri Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Dec 2016
Reputation: 1
Location: switzerland
Post: #42
@FernetMenta: is there a PR to the current official xbmc master regarding these fixes?
I have tried with the current xbmc master and the problem is still there.
What about the problem @rbuehlma mentions with the initial 2-3 sec buffer?
This is still present in your test video.
find quote
northern light Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
It's definitely not fixed, at least not in in the nightlies from the 18.03.2017.
Tried the Linux, Android and Windows build.
It's not just Zattoo, but almost all Multi-Bitrate HLS streams, I've tested so far.
A couple of these streams won't even start with Kodi 17+18, which was no problem at all in Kodi 16.
The "master.m3u8" from post #33 is such an example ^^.
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-20 12:45 by northern light.)
find quote
drspy00 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
Ive been having the same problem for months and have seen others cases online. Ive tried many different versions, no addons, windows 10, 7, android etc and all have the same problem. The later nightly builds seem to load the channels faster but stop for a few seconds with a frozen frame. Ive also noticed stuttering video where the whole screen shakes upon switching.

I will post a proper debug log. Are we meant to disable all addons or just have no third party addons?
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,166
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 139
Location: Munich
Post: #45
(2017-03-19 23:40)rainman74 Wrote:  if it is stable enough, then I'll give it a try of course! ;-)

Do you mean: Kodixxx-20170318-xxxxxxxx-master ?

Nope, I mean this branch https://github.com/FernetMenta/kodi-agile
I am in the process of facturing out changes and submit them to kodi master branch. May take a while but not 1/2 - 1 year what I was referring to.
find quote