What did you use before?
I have been using XBMC/Kodi/SPMC/Openelec for several years now. Before it, I used the Boxee Box. Remember those?? They were EXECELLENT and did what the primary function od Kodi is. They allowed you to play back media files to the TV easily. DLink bought Boxee and screwed it up after introducing the Boxee Box. My in-laws still use the boxee box. I introduced them to it. They have mine, in addition to a couple others and use them extensively. Actually, before that, I used Western Digital's box. If have used variants of Kodi on PCs, Raspberry Pi, and a couple Android TV boxes.

Currently, I am using a Mi Box. At the end of the month, I am transitioning over to the Shield Pro.

I think the strife that made Koying move back to his own fork is and will be a mistake. Yes, Linux is an awesome environment for Kodi. The developers with the anti-android bias do not get it!! I want a box that will stream my own media, that will do netflix in full HD, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, the live stream services....all in one remote friendly/family friendly platform.

Android is no joke of an OS. Current hardware outperforms top of the line PC hardware from just a few years back.

I feel like there need not be OS bigots. I have numerous platforms...I like Kodi on all of them.
I used to use Xlobby.... great software (on Windows), and the only one I have ever found with builtin skin-events editor... no cryptic XML files to mess with Smile
Not sure what your question is, but android has previously involved so many hacks that aren't wanted in kodi's code.

Not sure what you mean about hardware. I recently bought a s905x android box. Kodi was awful on android, great on libreelec. Hardware is not necessarily tied to one os.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)