Raspberry Pi - Enigma 2 Plugin - Can I get an interlaced output?
Hi there,

I'm new to Kodi. I have a Raspberry Pi B+ with Kodi installed and the enigma 2 plugin linked to a Vu+ Solo 2 set top box. The RP is connected to an old LG LED TV (not smart) & the ethernet connection is wired over cat6. My plan was to buy a new RP3 but I decided to test 1st on the B+, the results were much better than anticipated Smile

My live TV results are...

HD channels stream perfectly (I can choose interlaced or de-interlaced and there is no stuttering or buffering)

SD channels stutter a lot if I have de-interlaced selected but SD channels stream well (not perfectly) when I have it interlaced.

I presume the stuttering is because the B+ can't handle the de-interlacing? The SD channels are watchable but the interlacing is a bit annoying. So my questions are...

1) Can the RP B+ output an interlaced signal from my set top box to the TV?

2) Can the RP3 output an interlaced signal to the TV?

3) Why is the RP struggling with the SD streams when it's really good with the HD streams?

4) If the RP3 cannot output an interlaced signal I presume the hardware on the 3 would handle the de-interlacing on the SD channels much better and would sort my problem, yes?

I can transcode on the set top box side and have tested but the results are the same as above. My goal is to make use of the 2nd TV but without a new set top box or any crazy cabling. All channel data plus an EPG comes across and I can control via CEC which is awesome. If someone could answer the above questions that would be great any other advice would be more than welcome too!

Thanks!!

Some more info...

OSMC 2017.01-1 (kernel: Linux 4.4.27-6-osmc)
Version: 16.1
Skin: OSMC
Resolution: 1920x1080
Refresh Rate: 50 (Living in Ireland and all TV signals are 1080 50i or PAL

I had previously had ares wizard installed and the post was banned!! I've now uninstalled it. Hope it wasn't anything dodgy :/
The RPI will deinterlace for you.