Release - Kodi 17.0 Krypton - Released!

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 2.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
trogggy Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,725
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 131
Location: Monthou sur Cher, France
Post: #46
(2017-02-08 14:10)j-m-s Wrote:  
(2017-02-08 12:58)trogggy Wrote:  Time to do some reading. The krypton changes - taking out some workarounds that have been used in Jarvis and before - are plastered all over the forum. If Jarvis is better for you then carry on using it.

Sure I do. I had to uninstall kodi 17, search for the kodi 16.1 apk in the internet, download it and install it. After installing kodi, I had to install all my addons I had before, configure them, configure kodi and voila, with one afternoon of work I had the same I had last week: all working fine.
I'm sorry for your loss.
find
DarrenHill Offline
Team-Kodi Minion
Posts: 5,494
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 124
Location: UK, except when I'm not.
Post: #47
The Jarvis apk is still available from the older releases section of the download page linked at the top of every forum page. Just scroll down a bit towards the bottom and you should find it.

Indeed for the 32-bit versions you can find apk's back to Frodo or Gotham if that takes your fancy...

| Banned add-ons (wiki) | Forum rules (wiki) | First time user (wiki) | FAQs (wiki) | Troubleshooting (wiki) | Add-ons (wiki) | Free content (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki) |
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-08 17:23 by DarrenHill.)
find
RexJaguarius Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
Hey Team,

First thanks for your hard work. I love Kodi and I've been using it for a very long time now.

So please take this into account when I tell you, the new interface isn't great. I used the alpha of 17.0 and I really liked it. Neat new interface, a big step up and modernization.

Now, I've installed the release version and I gotta tell you... something went wrong between Alpha and release. The interface is not great. I'd have to go through it and write down exactly what I don't like but overall its clunky, less user friendly and just doesn't look that good. I miss the bar at the bottom for sure.

I think you should revisit this. The alpha version was awesome, and although the changes aren't extensive between these and the release, they are all negative ones.

Thanks again for the time and effort.
find
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 16,775
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 308
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #49
Then you are one of the few

Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
find
kimkl Offline
Grandpa Simpson
Posts: 323
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 3
Location: Holbaek, Denmark
Post: #50
(2017-02-08 18:00)RexJaguarius Wrote:  Hey Team,

First thanks for your hard work. I love Kodi and I've been using it for a very long time now.

So please take this into account when I tell you, the new interface isn't great. I used the alpha of 17.0 and I really liked it. Neat new interface, a big step up and modernization.

Now, I've installed the release version and I gotta tell you... something went wrong between Alpha and release. The interface is not great. I'd have to go through it and write down exactly what I don't like but overall its clunky, less user friendly and just doesn't look that good. I miss the bar at the bottom for sure.

I think you should revisit this. The alpha version was awesome, and although the changes aren't extensive between these and the release, they are all negative ones.

Thanks again for the time and effort.

No Revisit, please i love it, and have since day 1, okay i also used ronies skin for a long time so maybe thats why, and since this is not a support forum, i wont rant about the DTS or Blu Ray menu not working small hiccups over all i think this was the best choice for a modern UI, if you look at experience and ronies skin
the revolve skin and so one everyone is using almost same layout, i never liked a clouded UI needs to be clean and i just love the new UI, yea there are small annoyances, but i think you just need to try it out a bit more, if you still hate it well
that is a shame ofc but we are all different, i always hated the confluence for lack of modification, and the new UI smoother Video play, and i just can say enough, how great it is.
My only complaint is i am so dumb i have not found the setting where i can change wallpaper, that bugs me, but it must be there Big Grin i just need to find it

But if you disregard the DTS and Menu Bug i find its a lot smother, and Movies look a lot better, that was a big nice surprise

Just a quick note i made my own Blu ray Menu for some of my Movies and now i can use show blu ray Menu, but i have to use the skip button to enter because the show blu ray menu link goes elsewhere, not asking for support just clarifying

Grandpa Simpson: Unfortunately, like all true stories, this one has a crappy ending.
Your story's have an ending?
English is not my native language; please excuse typing errors.
Banned Add-Ons
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-09 03:07 by kimkl.)
find
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,660
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 356
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #51
(2017-02-08 12:46)j-m-s Wrote:  
(2017-02-06 09:21)nickr Wrote:  Android audio will depend how well your firmware supports android standards - and that is not up to Team Kodi.

Since Dolby & DTS passthru work in Kodi 16.1 and don't work in Kodi 17, it is not a matter of the device but obviously a matter of the kodi software.
Yes Kodi threw out all the hack code that was needed by poor vendor firmwares. Now only api compliant firmwares are supported. Talk to your vendor.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find
vially Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #52
The blog post mentions:
Quote:the immediate availability of Kodi 17.0 (Krypton) for Windows, Android, MacOS and iOS
Why is Linux not mentioned?

Edit: I know they mentions Ubuntu downloads are not yet ready, but there are some distributions out there which provide packages for it already (e.g.: Archlinux) so it might be fair to list Linux there as well.
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-09 15:30 by vially.)
find
nickthesouka Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
CONGS. VERY GOOD WORK BUT I HAVE A PROBLEM.I DOWNLOAD AND INSTALL THE NEW KODI BUT I HAVE NO VIDEO ONLY AUDIO !!!!!!!!!!!!! WHY Confused??
find
el_Paraguayo Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,060
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 28
Location: London, UK
Post: #54
Nick,

First thing, please turn off your caps lock, no need for the shouting.

Secondly, this thread is just for announcing the release of Krypton, you're much more likely to get help with your issue if you post in the relevant support forum. You're even more likely to get help if you post a Debug Log (wiki) too.

Good luck.

BBC Live Football Scores: Football scores notifications service.
script.squeezeinfo: shows what's playing on your Logitech Media Server
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-10 14:42 by el_Paraguayo.)
find
Kib Offline
Team Kodi 🐤 Member
Posts: 4,997
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 85
Location: The Hague
Post: #55
(2017-02-09 15:21)vially Wrote:  Why is Linux not mentioned?

I did not mention this in the blog post because we do not provide binaries for "Linux", and I was looking at the available binaries.

We have someone on the team who maintains a PPA repository for Ubuntu, but he's away at the moment which is why it will take some time before they become available.
The source code is available for the Linux distributions or for individuals to build their own binaries. (or start their own PPA)

I'll see if I can clarify this in the release announcement.

Edit: I've added this to the release announcement.
Quote:The source code for Kodi 17.0 can be downloaded from our mirrors, and we expect it will not take very long before the maintainers of various Linux distributions release updated binaries. Our own Ubuntu PPA will be updated as soon as our maintainer is back from his well-deserved holiday.
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-10 16:11 by Kib.)
find
zosky Offline
Donor
Posts: 387
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 3
Location: toronto. canada
Post: #56
woohooo. the ubuntu PPA has been updated.
thanks !!

eight kodi devices mostly libreElec
android phones | hpTouchPad | raspberryPI ...
central mySQL db ( +20TB NAS ) +maraschino +IRtoy.v2 +yatse
find
1358 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #57
Unfortunately the tvheadend addon stopps working:
Quote:PVR - Add-on 'Tvheadend HTSP Client' is using an incompatible API version. XBMC minimum API version = '5.2.1', add-on API version '4.1.0'
find
thezencowsaysmu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
(2017-02-10 20:24)1358 Wrote:  Unfortunately the tvheadend addon stopps working:
Quote:PVR - Add-on 'Tvheadend HTSP Client' is using an incompatible API version. XBMC minimum API version = '5.2.1', add-on API version '4.1.0'

Assuming you're upgraded using the Kodi ubuntu PPA, the PVR plugins haven't been updated there yet.

Hopefully they get compiled soon, because I'm eager to upgrade Kodi for my mythtv system.
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-10 20:50 by thezencowsaysmu.)
find
1358 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #59
(2017-02-10 20:49)thezencowsaysmu Wrote:  Assuming you're upgraded using the Kodi ubuntu PPA, the PVR plugins haven't been updated there yet.
Kinda bad timing that kodi itself is updated in the ppa without the plugins. Sad
Invidious that PVR has now stopped working after updating the stable branch during normal system maintenance.
find
thezencowsaysmu Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #60
(2017-02-10 22:00)1358 Wrote:  
(2017-02-10 20:49)thezencowsaysmu Wrote:  Assuming you're upgraded using the Kodi ubuntu PPA, the PVR plugins haven't been updated there yet.
Kinda bad timing that kodi itself is updated in the ppa without the plugins. Sad
Invidious that PVR has now stopped working after updating the stable branch during normal system maintenance.

The kodi-pvr-hts addon has now been updated on the Kodi PPA, as have all the other PVR addons. Hooray!
find