Which add-ons do I use?
Hi,

I have been using KODI 14.2 for a long time, and have done quite a few customizations over the period. I am thinking of moving to a newer version, and want to back-up my video library first as described here: HOW-TO:Backup_the_video_library (wiki)

However, it is stated that add-ons and their settings are not backed-up. Will installing a newer version of KODI add my existing add ons, or will this need to be done manually afterwards? I simply no longer remember which add-ons I am using (I know there are some related to remote controls, short cut key strokes etc). Is there any way of finding out which add-ons are in use, so I can take note of this before I install a newer version. Otherwise I am afraid I'll use weeks and months of reinventing the wheel before I can get a new KODI to work like I want?

To all who have upgraded/updated before, my apologies for these very basic questions, but I have never tried this before, and I am very nervous that a system I have used and relied on for many years, and where I have spend 100s of hours tweaking it to my liking, might not work properly.... Blush
What operating system are you using?
Sorry, Windows 7 64 bit
That makes life relatively easy.
If it were me I'd try to do a completely separate upgrade - leaving your kodi14.2 in place and untouched.
If you do that there's no need to back up your video library (unless the update fails, in which case you can still back up from 14.2).
It also means you can continue to use 14.2 whilst tweaking / fixing / perfecting / kicking 17.

Steps would be:
- set up kodi 17 as a portable install - that means install krypton to somewhere other than program files, make and edit a shortcut to kodi.exe.
- copy your data folder from kodi 14 into the new folder.
- start kodi 17, let it do its stuff; then troubleshoot or post 'hurray.'

If you want to go that route I'll post some more specific instructions.