Win File names setup
Hi all,

I'm new to Kodi, and am trying to get all my TV shows and movies recognized automatically by Kodi 17.0 (Feb 1 2017)
Movies are working perfect, as are photo's, but I'm having issues with my TV shows.

My standard way of labelling files is "Show - [Season x - Episode x] - (date in dd-mm-yyyy) - Title.xxx (quality if 720p/1080p/2160p)

I created the advancedsettings.xml file and experimented with if after reading the wiki on file naming, but most of the episodes aren't recognized by the system and are not showing info in the left pane when opening the folder.

Can somebody push me in the right direction on how to get the files recognized the way it should be?

Thanks in advance
Maybe your folders and subfolders aren't setup correctly?

Check your Debug_log (wiki) for clues also
4x R-Pi4b LibreELEC v10 | Aeon Nox: SiLVO | Flirc cases
Storage Synology DS411 | 4 x WD RED 6TB
Software MariaDB 10.4.19 | Filebot | Ember Media Manager
wiki (wiki) | First time user (wiki) | Debug_Log (wiki) | mysql (wiki) | artwork (wiki)
Normally they should be good.

I've just got one main folder per show, no subfolders per season/year.

I'll check the debug file to see if that gives me a clue.

Thanks!
Hello StuNNeD

Have you read these instructions on naming TV Shows... http://kodi.wiki/view/Naming_video_files/TV_shows.

Looks like your naming format is not recognised by KODI. You will need to change the naming scheme to one of those listed in the link. Or, if you have technical know how, you can modify advancedsettings.xml (as you tried already)

You would be best off just re-naming your files using something like Bulk Renamer Utility.

Yes, we all know it is a hassle, and you will naturally have some resistance to the change (as I did) but, some advice from someone who experienced the same issue many years ago, you would be better off making the change.
Hi Blossom24,