Audio Passthrough not working for Atmos HTPC. But PC Game Atmos works good

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
stevedawg85 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Denon avr x3300w - 5.2.2 (2 heights)
HTPC w/ HDMI
Kodi 17.0

I happen to have SW Battlefront - and when I play it, the Receiver properly displays Atmos (and boy does it sound great)! So no issues w/ the equipment itself.

However in Kodi, I open a number of movies and their appropriate format is displayed on the Receiver, Dolby, DTS, DTS HD, etc. But when I try to test out my John Wick which I'm 100% is Atmos capable, the receiver doesn't doesn't change. It stays as "Multi Ch" which is nothing special and the same format when navigating Kodi.

A couple of oddities idk if related - I downloaded one of those 45 second "Atmos experience" demos and try to open it with VLC or WMP, and I get no audio, just video. Then when I use the Windows speaker setup/test, it plays the height/rear sound out of the side.


Point me in the right direction. I'm hoping tomorrow is movie night w/ Hacksaw Ridge and want the full experience Wink.
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-17 18:09 by stevedawg85.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,200
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 523
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #2
No Debug Log no issue. This is a support forum and nobody can help you without that Debug Log

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
stevedawg85 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(lOG removed - passwords and such - THANKS!)
In this one, I tried opening Mechanic movie which is an atmos file.
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-18 19:22 by stevedawg85.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,200
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 523
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #4
Please select the WASAPI sink for Passthrough, too. In your log the directsound sink is opened.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
stevedawg85 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
awesome stuff, thnx!
Didn't realize there was a 2nd area to also set WASAPI
(PS - removed original log)
(This post was last modified: 2017-02-18 19:22 by stevedawg85.)
find quote