no EPG for some channels

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
orclex Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Question  no EPG for some channels
Post: #1
Hi,

I'm running Kodi 17.0 with VDR VNSI and DVB-S2. EPG is running out of the box and showing information for my channels but not for all of them. I have some (regional, private and public) channels that show no EPG data.

Some channels without EPG data:
SAT.1 NRW
RTL Regional NRW
ProSieben
kabel eins
EinsPlus HD
ZDFinfo HD
zdf.kultur HD

Why is there no EPG Data? I think, private channels should get EPG data and therefore maybe the channel name should be a little bit different, but where can I find correct channel names to get EPG data?
What about special regional channels? How can I get EPG data for them or where can I find information if EPG is available for these channels?

Thanks!
find quote
Uatschitchun Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Nov 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Is vdr set to scan epg correctly?
find quote
orclex Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I'm running LibreELEC 8 and EPG is preconfigured. It is running out of the box and there is EPG data for most channels.
I found the configuration file .kodi/userdata/addon_data/service.multimedia.vdr-addon/config/epgsources/epgdata2xmltv that has a large list of channelnames and channel IDs. Above channels without EPG data are also included in this list. Where can I find the assignment for a channel ID in this list to my channels to check if there are problems?
find quote
Uatschitchun Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Nov 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Check in the VDR configuration/settings (the one in Settings where you have VDR's on-screen menu)
find quote
orclex Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Ok, I checked this and I have these EPG settings:

Code:
EPG scan timeout (h):  5
EPG bugfix level:      3
EPG linger time (min): 0
Set system time:       no
Preferred languages:   1
Preferred language:    deu,ger

Unfortunately I don't get error messages for the channels with missing data in .kodi/temp/kodi.log. Actually I get messages like
Code:
DEBUG: EPG - UpdateFromScraper - updating EPG for channel 'ProSieben' from client '1151313531'
DEBUG: EPG - UpdateFromScraper - updating EPG for channel 'kabel eins' from client '1151313531'

Hm, it seems that all these DEBUG messages are for channels where I don't get data. I cannot find a channel in this debug list that gets EPG data.
So, I have a list with channels that don't get EPG data. What can I do now?
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,165
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 139
Location: Munich
Post: #6
query EPG with svdrpsend directly on vdr. lets us know the results
find quote
orclex Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Unfortunately there is no svdrpsend installed in the LibreELEC distro. Hence I've installed it on my linux system but the connection is refused. I don't know if a service for this is running on LibreELEC:

Code:
$ svdrpsend -d libreelec HELP LSTE                                                                                                                                                                          
connect: Connection refused
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 6,165
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 139
Location: Munich
Post: #8
If you want to connect from a different machine, you need to adapt svdrphosts.conf. By default only localhost is allowed
find quote