Work in Progress - Auto Update Kodi

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jpdraven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
How come there is no option, at least that I've found to UPDATE Kodi from WITHIN the app itself to a new version OR Rollback to an older version?

I think it would have been an awesome feature to have within Kodi Directly.

Anyone have any ideas on this?
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-16 21:20 by jpdraven.)
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi
Posts: 6,258
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 161
Post: #2
there is, at least on platforms that have some kind of package managment. linux, android and even windows(if installed via store) have it.
find quote
jpdraven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2017-03-16 20:30)wsnipex Wrote:  there is, at least on platforms that have some kind of package managment. linux, android and even windows(if installed via store) have it.

wsnipex- I know you can get updates through places like the Google Playstore when and if they come out, BUT not with the frequency of "builds and betas"

So on Windows it's easy to install a new build. Real Easy. On Android not so much unless your device is rooted, or the update is available through the Playstore.

I am curious why directly IN Kodi they never developed the upgrade options. Much like a Windows App that can be updated from the app itself, why not give Kodi that feature, with a rollback feature in case something S@$ts the bed.
find quote
Gorbulan Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
A feature like that isn't a priority. Part of the reason could be that having the latest Kodi is not really necessary, and sometimes, not recommended.

I use 15.2 now, used 12.3 before that, and 11.0 before that. Sometimes stuff gets broken in an update, so I don't update often.
find quote
jpdraven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
(2017-03-16 21:28)Gorbulan Wrote:  A feature like that isn't a priority. Part of the reason could be that having the latest Kodi is not really necessary, and sometimes, not recommended.

I use 15.2 now, used 12.3 before that, and 11.0 before that. Sometimes stuff gets broken in an update, so I don't update often.
find quote
jpdraven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Yeah, I know what you mean there. I personally agree for a stable build and run it until it is just outperformed by a newer build.

On a PC it's not such a pain to install new versions and roll back if need be BUT on devices like Android where its a royal pain in the ass I'd have liked to have the functionality.

A great example of where I agree with you is Krypton. IDK about anyone else but I prefer Jarvis or lower to it actually. But when I goofed and moved to Krypton because I was forced to through the Google Playstore after getting a new Nvidia Shield TV that is where the functionality I feel would have paid off.

I got Jarvis back on my Shield TV but it wasn't easy and you need to Root it. Rooting allowed me to make a full backup of kodi with Titanium Backup which you just have to do if you toy with new builds. It's the only way to save you if there's a big issue.
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,045
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 346
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #7
Libreelec can do this.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-17 00:48 by nickr.)
find quote
Dangelus Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,922
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 25
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #8
(2017-03-16 21:34)jpdraven Wrote:  I got Jarvis back on my Shield TV but it wasn't easy and you need to Root it. Rooting allowed me to make a full backup of kodi with Titanium Backup which you just have to do if you toy with new builds. It's the only way to save you if there's a big issue.

No you don't need root. Install 16.1 and disable automatic updates in the Play Store.

You can also backup everything with the backup (wiki) add-on or even manually.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
jpdraven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2017-03-16 21:39)Dangelus Wrote:  
(2017-03-16 21:34)jpdraven Wrote:  I got Jarvis back on my Shield TV but it wasn't easy and you need to Root it. Rooting allowed me to make a full backup of kodi with Titanium Backup which you just have to do if you toy with new builds. It's the only way to save you if there's a big issue.

No you don't need root. Install 16.1 and disable automatic updates in the Play Store.

You can also backup everything with the backup (wiki) add-on or even manually.

I've tried backup. It was ok but there's better apps out there that I found were more complete. I have a few options for backup. The Playstore issue is..... once Google Playstore UPDATES the app version on their side for download, that's it unless you can install APK's manually. That's the part that sucked.
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi
Posts: 6,258
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 161
Post: #10
auto updating from within an application is plain stupid and only became somewhat "popular" because of the inherent shortcomings of Windows(no package management)
We provide nightly kodi builds that can be installed just like another other software package on ubuntu.
find quote
Dangelus Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,922
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 25
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #11
(2017-03-16 22:40)jpdraven Wrote:  
(2017-03-16 21:39)Dangelus Wrote:  
(2017-03-16 21:34)jpdraven Wrote:  I got Jarvis back on my Shield TV but it wasn't easy and you need to Root it. Rooting allowed me to make a full backup of kodi with Titanium Backup which you just have to do if you toy with new builds. It's the only way to save you if there's a big issue.

No you don't need root. Install 16.1 and disable automatic updates in the Play Store.

You can also backup everything with the backup (wiki) add-on or even manually.

I've tried backup. It was ok but there's better apps out there that I found were more complete. I have a few options for backup. The Playstore issue is..... once Google Playstore UPDATES the app version on their side for download, that's it unless you can install APK's manually. That's the part that sucked.

And pretty much every android system will allow you to install APKs manually. Root is not required, just wanted to make that clear for others.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
jpdraven Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mar 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I should have been more specific about root. Rooting enables you to use more powerful backup software packages. That's why I needed to root. No you don't need Root in order to install APK's you just have to be sure to allow unknown sources to install and at times turn app verification off. WHOOPS sorry bout that
find quote