Linux - Issue with HD sound in Kodi 17

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
MacUsers Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #16
(2017-03-18 14:44)fritsch Wrote:  Nope. No thoughts - we don't miss something.
I mean there must be some reason for it or something else to chk?

Here is my xorg.conf with marantz:
Code:
HomeELEC:~/.config # awk '!/^((.*#)|$)/' xorg.conf
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "nvidia"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option         "DynamicTwinView" "False"
    Option         "NoFlip" "false"
    Option         "NoLogo" "true"
    Option         "ConnectToAcpid" "0"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoVesaModes, NoXServerModes"
    Option         "HWCursor" "false"
    Option         "ModeDebug" "true"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-1"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DFP-1:/storage/.config/marantz.bin"
    Option         "IgnoreEDID" "false"
    Option         "UseEDID" "true"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "screen"
    Device         "nvidia"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "ColorRange" "Full"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "false"
EndSection

And this is kodi.log: http://sprunge.us/QQJa
I haven't disable ARC yet but that seriously could be an issue - for this card or the receiver?

-S

MONEUAL 320B | ASUS P5Q-VM | Core2Duo E6320 | Radeon HD 6450 | Kingston KVR 800Mz HyperX DDR2 4GB (2 x 2GB) | UJ-120 BD-ROM | Pioneer VSX-924-K | KEF KHT3005SE-W | Panasonic TX-P42GT50B | OpenELEC
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,424
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 533
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #17
Arc might interfer in general as it internally forces 2 pcm channels only. If you got another HDMI in or even another HDMI out on the GPU try that, also.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
find quote
MacUsers Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #18
(2017-03-18 15:15)fritsch Wrote:  Arc might interfer in general as it internally forces 2 pcm channels only.
Could you elaborate on that a bit? 5.1 audio from Netfilx (that runs as TV app) comes through ARC alright. Or do you mean when it handles HD sound? Sorry for the ignorance in this area.

BTW, Disabling ARC didn't bring any luck. Trying to figure out how to use 2nd HDMI in.

-S

MONEUAL 320B | ASUS P5Q-VM | Core2Duo E6320 | Radeon HD 6450 | Kingston KVR 800Mz HyperX DDR2 4GB (2 x 2GB) | UJ-120 BD-ROM | Pioneer VSX-924-K | KEF KHT3005SE-W | Panasonic TX-P42GT50B | OpenELEC
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-18 15:44 by MacUsers.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 17,424
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 533
Location: Stuttgart*
Post: #19
5.1 is not always 5.1 pcm

AC3 having 6 channels, e.g. 5.1 - is still only transmitted via 2 PCM channels when passthroughed as AC3. If it's decoded you need 6 channels.

If you already have an issue doing:

systemctl stop kodi

speaker-test -c6 -D "here comes your device", then you already have a multi channel output problem.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.
"Of course, they [XP Users and people with outdated hardware] need to tell the world about the kind of hero they are, and block innovation for everyone else because their decades old OS / hardware needs to work =p" nevcairiel (ffmpeg)
No Debug Log no issue.
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-18 15:47 by fritsch.)
find quote
MacUsers Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #20
Some mysterious reason, HD playback came back in life (along with DTS-HD MA on the A/V display) for 5 mins or so. Stopped that movie (Avatar) and tried another one, and it's gone! I seems to have ghost-card.

I'll try the speaker test rest although I doubt I'll see any issue as standard 5.1 DD/DTS plays just fine anytime.

-S

MONEUAL 320B | ASUS P5Q-VM | Core2Duo E6320 | Radeon HD 6450 | Kingston KVR 800Mz HyperX DDR2 4GB (2 x 2GB) | UJ-120 BD-ROM | Pioneer VSX-924-K | KEF KHT3005SE-W | Panasonic TX-P42GT50B | OpenELEC
find quote
MacUsers Offline
Fan
Posts: 458
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: London, UK
Post: #21
I'm getting a lot better result with Radeon HD 6450 instead. Three fresh install in a row and HD audio is coming up nicely, so far. The picture seems a bit richer and deeper compare to GT220 as well.

But I think, I've had enough of (my time and yours) it now. I'm ordering an Apollo Lake board soon, so leaving it up here. Thanks a lot @fritsch for your help. Best!

MONEUAL 320B | ASUS P5Q-VM | Core2Duo E6320 | Radeon HD 6450 | Kingston KVR 800Mz HyperX DDR2 4GB (2 x 2GB) | UJ-120 BD-ROM | Pioneer VSX-924-K | KEF KHT3005SE-W | Panasonic TX-P42GT50B | OpenELEC
find quote
svenie12 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Same problem here, believe the Pioneer don't recognise HD?!

Sendt fra min SM-G800F med Tapatalk
find quote
Post Reply