[Krypton] Bug: editing individual timers deletes them

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
schnarky42 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
After doing some more testing, I may have found another bug. Though I don't believe this is a typical usage scenario, this bug will cause an active recording to stop prematurely. Anyway, here it is:

Scenario
1.Use the full guide and use the record feature in the context menu for either an active or future show
2.Go into timers and make changes to that timer and attempt to save

Result:
1.Receive error message "PVR backend error"
2.The timer you just tried to edit is now deleted, and the active recording (if it was recording) gets stopped

Here's my log of this:

https://pastebin.com/DZBL6B3c

Thanks again for your support!
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-07 00:27 by schnarky42.)
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,052
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #2
It sounds like a pretty typical usage scenario to me, unless when you say a 'future show' you mean you wait until the future recording starts recording (i.e. becomes active) and then try to edit the timer. Is that what you mean? Does the problem only show up if you try to edit an active recording timer?

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,052
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #3
I can't reproduce this problem, for active or passive recordings. I also can't find the error in the log you posted. When you can, see if you can reproduce it and then post the log again. Also any details you can provide about how to reproduce and what the actual edit is that you make to the timer.


Also, it would be great if you could restart serverwmc before you try to reproduce, so that the log is kept short; then post the whole thing on pastebin.com (I can see how you have serverwmc configured if I can see the beginning part of the log).

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-07 03:28 by krustyreturns.)
find quote
schnarky42 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
Thanks, I've restarted serverwmc and recreated the issue. The entire log here:

https://pastebin.com/hSQLrByw

Additionally, I posted a quick video showing what happens on the front-end and how to recreate it (screen was a little dark but I think you can see how to reproduce it):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUG1B9QaaWs
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,052
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #5
Beautiful, the video was a really nice touch - thanks a lot for making it. Because of it, I can recreate the problem now too, it happens when you change the 'type' of the timer. I have to review the code, but I don't believe we built into the edit feature the ability to change the type with a timer edit. Obviously the first step is to make sure it fails gracefully when the user chooses this and doesn't delete the time completely!

After that I have to think about what timer type changes even makes sense. Although its easy to see the use of changing a single timer to a series (repeating) timer - we should definitely support that - other then that I'm not sure. If you have ideas what would be useful let me know.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote
schnarky42 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
(2017-04-07 04:58)krustyreturns Wrote:  Beautiful, the video was a really nice touch - thanks a lot for making it. Because of it, I can recreate the problem now too, it happens when you change the 'type' of the timer. I have to review the code, but I don't believe we built into the edit feature the ability to change the type with a timer edit. Obviously the first step is to make sure it fails gracefully when the user chooses this and doesn't delete the time completely!

After that I have to think about what timer type changes even makes sense. Although its easy to see the use of changing a single timer to a series (repeating) timer - we should definitely support that - other then that I'm not sure. If you have ideas what would be useful let me know.

Ahh, that makes sense now about the 'type' of the timer. This affects the 'Timer Rules' then as well.

Since Serverwmc is based off WMC, as you mentioned above, I think you only need to recreate the similar functional 'record' options that existed in WMC. That would be, if you're in the WMC's Guide, you have the following recording stages, Record Once-->Record Series-->Cancel Series Recording.

So, I it would be a great feature to be able to convert a "One-time (guide)" type to a "Repeating (guide)". I think all other conversion types could be ignored, with the rational being WMC never had any other record functionality to begin with (at least from a PVR scheduling perspective).

Thinking outside the box a bit on what else could be supported from a PVR perspective. Hmm. I believe this is outside the scope of Serverwmc - but maybe not - so here it goes...Could Serverwmc have a server-side override to the "Record" and "Instant Record" functionality? For example - clicking record/instant record in Kodi would request a "One-time (guide)" type, but Wmcserver would have an option/checkbox to interpret any record/instant record request as a "Repeating (guide)".

Reason I bring it up is the major complaint in my household since converting to Kodi has been around the "Record/Instant Record" vs "Add Timer" dialogue. Fundamentally, I understand the difference between the two. But for a normal user who comes from WMC, Tivo, or even a Cable Box, the terminology is confusing because both perform the same basic function (record my show). Specifically in WMC there exists an option to default recordings to either a one-time or series recording. It would be nice if there was an option to default the action of the "Record/Instant Record" to include "Repeating (guide)", but that's something I would think would have to be added into the main Kodi codebase.
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-07 06:04 by schnarky42.)
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,052
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 77
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #7
If recall right, even in wmc - like say in guide view - you had to decide if you wanted to record a single show or the entire series. There was really a default to always record the entire series?

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/serverwmc
find quote
schnarky42 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 1
Post: #8
(2017-04-07 19:35)krustyreturns Wrote:  If recall right, even in wmc - like say in guide view - you had to decide if you wanted to record a single show or the entire series. There was really a default to always record the entire series?

You're right, I stand corrected. The option I was thinking of was the default settings for the series recordings. Recording padding and 'Keep' time were the only general recording defaults.
find quote
Gobberwart Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Feb 2017
Reputation: 2
Post: #9
From memory, in wmc, one press of the record button creates a single show recording, a second press creates a series (guide) type recording, and a third press deletes all timers (with a prompt to confirm whether just this instance or all future instances).

I'm fairly sure it was possible to create manual schedules too, but I never did.
find quote