Kodi 17 - Networking issues???

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jsaddiction Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I am not sure if this is the correct place for a networking issue so MODS if i am wrong I am sorry.

This has been a brain teaser for me for a while now and I hope someone here can give me some insight.

CONFIG:
R7000 Nighthawk router
N700 Modem (comcast internet)
Synology NAS
3x Chromebox running OPENELEC
-2x on wifi
-1x wired
various other network items.. ie PS4 laptop PC ...

ISSUES:
1. Comcast internet sucks.. i am experiencing about 70% up-time with random periodicity and longevity. I don't really expect any idea's on this one. Its more of a battle between Comcast and I.

2. This issue has only shown itself since issue 1 (since I moved here) When the internet is down.. (request timed out on a ping to google.com) the rest of my LAN connections are significantly slower. Somewhere in the 25Kb/s range. Too slow for any content except music but even that is sluggish. This problem is present on all of my devices wireless and wired connections. Issue 1 mostly occurs after 2pm and before 10pm. right when i want to watch tv.

3. When rebooting Openelec sometimes it halts boot process. It stops sometimes with a mouse pointer in the top left after a KODI splash screen. Sometimes it is just a black screen before the KODI splash screen. This started after updating to Openelec 8.0.0. I don't have any logs for this issue as i am mainly concerned with Issues 1 and 2 to start with.

Thank you for reading my long winded questions.
Justin
find quote
DarrenHill Offline
Team-Kodi Minion
Posts: 5,498
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 124
Location: UK, except when I'm not.
Post: #2
What does this have to do with Kodi other than causing it the same problems as anything else on your network?

Post it on a Comcast forum or ring their support lines and shout at them. This isn't a general issues board for anything computer related...

That moved to off topic

| Banned add-ons (wiki) | Forum rules (wiki) | First time user (wiki) | FAQs (wiki) | Troubleshooting (wiki) | Add-ons (wiki) | Free content (wiki) | Debug Log (wiki) |
(This post was last modified: 2017-04-29 21:20 by DarrenHill.)
find quote
jsaddiction Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
O sorry one detail i left out.. if i shut down all kodi chromeboxes normal network speeds return. I figured it was something to do with that installation.
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,672
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 356
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
Try libreelec.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
jsaddiction Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I tried libreelec once and found that the wifi in chromebox wasn't supported so i shifted back to Openelec
find quote
jsaddiction Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
so i did some more digging. I opened cmd prompts with a ping going with the -t option to make it continually ping all of my KODI installations, PS4, my server and the internet.

1 when internet fails pings to a wired or wireless KODI install playing a video and my server all show greater than 2000ms time.

2 when you stop the video pings times decrease to normal speed

3 internet is online all pings to all locations are 2ms or less

4 pings to PS4 is always less than 2ms

5 if internet is down and i turn off my router ping speeds decrease to normal speed.

I am using SMB protocol to access the server which i used successfully when i had no internet connection at all. (before comcast). I am using static IP for the NAS and using IP addresses instead of requiring DNS lookup in each KODI sources XML
find quote
t2ffn Offline
Fan
Posts: 713
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Go back to Libreelec, openelec is dead and gone.
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,672
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 356
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #8
You need to do some packet sniffing perhaps.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
jsaddiction Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Openelec is dead and gone? I just installed 8.0.2 that was released on the 22nd. Why do you say it's dead?

How does one go about packet sniffing?
find quote
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,672
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 356
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #10
All the oe devs except one left.

http://bfy.tw/BVrq

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote