Duplicate Channels

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nickr Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 17,660
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 356
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #16
Actually I clicked "raw" and the text was all there.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
john2069 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
(2017-05-12 17:08)MatthewLundberg Wrote:  You ask at an appropriate time.

I'm working on a fix for this now. I expect to have something workable in a few weeks.

Note that there is an entry for each of your HDR boxes. If one box has all tuners in use, the attempt to tune the channel will fail (nothing will happen) but clicking on the same program for the other tuner will work, if there is a free tuner.

Since you have a Prime box, I may want you to test a pre-released version. I only have OTA boxes here. Can you do this? If so, what OS are you on?

Hi Matthew, thanks so much for this development of this solution. I too have just purchased 2nd HDHomerun box, and would be good to see this issue addressed.
find quote
MatthewLundberg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
@john2069

There's still more development to do, and a pre-release is several weeks away.
find quote
MatthewLundberg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
I have something that works, but there are still a few holes which need to be plugged. One is removing the setting to hide duplicates, as it's not possible to display them multiple times with this code.

It currently won't work properly if you have the same channel number with different content on two boxes, but I can fix that and will do so.

It does not currently check to see if the tuner box is fully subscribed. Instead, it will fail to tune the channel (nothing happens), but clicking on the channel again will cause it to advance to the next tuner in the list. I will add a check in the future, once I find out how to get the IP address of the local Ethernet interface from Kodi.

I also still need to figure out how to get this to build and run on Windows, which is kicking my behind. Linux is quite easy, so that's where I've been developing. However, I run Windows on my HTPC. And I don't have the tools to build on Android or X-Box or other systems.

Feel free to peruse the source code at https://github.com/MatthewLundberg/pvr.h...eriment-1/
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-18 15:56 by MatthewLundberg.)
find quote
john2069 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Thanks Matthew, that's great progress.

Would it be possible to allow Kodi users to specify one of the tuner boxes as the Primary or Preferred box that's always tried first. If that box is fully subscribed then it fails over to the 2nd box?
find quote
MatthewLundberg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
@john, I'll look into this. Directly entering the ID of the desired tuner/tuners may be easy enough to include in a first release of this new code.
find quote
MatthewLundberg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
The pull request has been entered for the first release of the new code.

No preferred tuner setting is in the first pull request, but I will look into addressing this in the future.

To test this prior to the merge, you can download both Kodi and the PVR code from my repository, at these addresses (Kodi is unmodified, but is a snapshot at the same point in development as the PRV code, which is last night):

https://github.com/MatthewLundberg/xbmc
https://github.com/MatthewLundberg/pvr.hdhomerun

Within the xbmc tree, in the file cmake/installdata/common/addons.txt, add the following line:

addons/pvr.hdhomerun/*

Also download and build the HDHomeRun library. You can get the code here: http://www.silicondust.com/support/downloads/

Then configure and compile the PVR and Kodi itself. The build instructions are identical to the mainline.

Notes on this code:

It is lineup-based rather than tuner-based, to handle multiple tuners while allowing any of them to be used.
Each channel shows up exactly once in the guide and channel selector.
A minimal covering of the lineup is determined, possibly reducing network bandwidth if a subset of tuner boxes contain the entire channel lineup. Cable users should only need to retrieve the guide for one tuner box.
Selecting a channel attempts to tune the first tuner found, but does not check the tuner at this time. If the tuner box is fully-subscribed, the attempt will fail, but selecting the channel again will cause a different tuner to be selected. A tuner check will be added in a subsequent release so this will be automatic.
Added the episode name from the guide (this was missing in the earlier code).
The channel name displayed can be selected in the options, one of three settings: the name returned by the tuner, the name returned by the guide, and the affiliate returned by the guide.
(This post was last modified: 2017-05-23 14:43 by MatthewLundberg.)
find quote
Post Reply